Date
Friday 31 July 2015 - 10:00 to Saturday 01 August 2015 - 23:59
Location
Moscow, Strelka Institute, Bersenevskaya naberezhnaya 14 building 5А

On July 31 - August 1, 2015 the British Council in collaboration with Strelka Institute for Media, Architecture and Design will hold a two-day music forum "Selector PRO", bringing together leading music theoreticians and practitioners. 

Selector PRO aims to provide both professionals and the general public with the fullest insight into music trends in contemporary society as well as the specifics of the British music industry. The event has evolved out of the Selector music programme, produced by the British Council, which includes a radio show and a series of Selector Live parties and which for more than two years has been bringing the best new music the UK has to offer to a Russian audience.

Selector PRO will cover the most important aspects of the work of British labels, talent agencies, festivals, music magazines and their major development strategies, with a special focus on the inevitable changes in the music industry in the digital age and, in turn, revolution in the music itself.

Selector PRO will include an open conference, public talks, workshops with the participation of leading British and Russian musicians and journalists, a film screening, and a concert. The British Council has invited the most advanced professionals of the British music industry: Paul Morley, one of the founders of the style of the legendary magazine NME;David Toop, an author of the sensational "Rap Attack" and "Ocean of Sound" and professor at University of the Arts London; Jon Clifford, Digital Director of the London’s largest festival Field Day; Michela Magas, founder of Music Tech Fest, that aims to explore advanced technologies in music, and adviser to the European Commission on Digital Development; Andrew Dubber, director of Music Tech Fest and Professor of Music Industry Innovation at BCU, as well as representatives of the Young Turks and Donky Pitch labels and the agencies Coda and The Agency group.

The team of the international documentary film festival, the Beat Film Festival, will present "Supermensch: The Legend of Shep Gordon"  - a film about the odious manager of Anne Murray Alice Cooper, Pink Floyd and other rock stars.

Also as part of Selector PRO we will organize a music market where you can buy major foreign magazines, literature about music, vinyl records, among a range of items.

A  Selector Live Beefeater Sessions party starring the young neo-soul artist Ban Khan, the legendary electronic musician Matthew Herbert and founder of the label Donky Pitch Dave Grinnell aka Grinel will be the final event of Selector PRO.

The entrance to all the events except for the Selector Live Beefeater Sessions party is free of charge.  Registration is required.

пятница 31 июль 2015 - 10:00 - суббота 01 август 2015 - 23:59
Москва, Институт "Стрелка", Берсеневская наб., 14, стр.5

31  июля - 1 августа 2015 в Москве Британский Совет совместно с Институтом «Стрелка» проводят Selector PRO - посвященную британской музыкальной индустрии программу, которая соберет на одной площадке ведущих музыкальных теоретиков и практиков из России и Великобритании.

В рамках Selector PRO состоится открытая конференция, пройдут публичные дискуссии и серия воркшопов с участием музыкантов и журналистов двух стран, будут освещены важнейшие аспекты работы британских лейблов, букинговых агентств, фестивалей и музыкальных изданий, определены основные векторы их развития. В центре внимания мероприятия – неизбежные в цифровую эпоху  изменения в музыкальной индустрии.

Задача проекта – дать как профессионалам, так и широкой публике наиболее полное представление о самых актуальных направлениях развития музыкальной мысли в современном обществе, а также о специфике функционирования британской музыкальной индустрии. Проект вырос из музыкальной программы Британского Совета Selector, включающей одноименное еженедельное радио-шоу, которое выходит в 40 странах мира, и серию российских вечеринок Selector Live, уже более двух лет успешно знакомящих публику с молодыми и перспективными британскими артистами. 

В числе гостей Selector PRO  -  наиболее передовые и широко мыслящие профессионалы британской музыкальной индустрии: один из основателей стиля легендарного журнала NME Пол Морли; автор нашумевших книг «Рэп Атака» и «Океан звука», профессор Лондонского университета искусств Дэвид Туп; digital-директор крупнейшего лондонского фестиваля Field Day  Джон Клиффорд, советник Европейской комиссии по цифровому развитию  ЕС Микаэлла Магас; основатель фестиваля Music Tech Fest, исследующего передовые технологии в музыке, Эндрю Даббер, а также представители лейблов Young Turks и Donky Pitch и агентств Coda и The Agency group. Все дискуссии будут транслироваться онлайн.

Команда международного фестиваля документального кино о музыке Beat Film Festival представит на Selector PRO фильм «Суперменш  -  Легенда Шепа Гордона» об одиозном менеджере Элиса Купера, Блонди, Энн Мюррей, Пинк Флойд и других рок-звёзд.

Параллельно дневной программе во дворе Института «Стрелка» откроется музыкальный маркет, на котором можно будет приобрести книги от магазина «Циолковский», виниловые пластинки и многое другое.

Завершающим мероприятием Selector PRO станет вечеринка Selector Live Beefeater Sessions с участием молодого нео-соул исполнителя Бена Хана, легендарного электронного музыканта Мэтью Херберта и основателя лейбла Donky Pitch Дэйва Гриннелл aka Grinel.

Вход на все мероприятия, кроме вечеринки Selector Live Beefeater Sessions, бесплатный.

Для участия во всех событиях программы необходима регистрация.