Alexey Bartoshevich is a participant of the 18th International Book Fair for High-Quality Fiction and Non-Fiction, where the United Kingdom will be the Country of Honour this year as a part of the UK-Russia Year of Language and Literature 2016.

About the speaker

Alexey Bartoshevich was born in 1939. He graduated from GITIS’s Faculty of Theatre Studies in 1961, and then became a postgraduate student of the Foreign Theatre History Department at the same institution. In 1965, he successfully finished his master’s thesis on Shakespeare’s comedies. Alexey teaches a Foreign Theatre History course in many universities. 1985 saw him gain the status of professor after the successful presentation of his PhD on the history of Shakespeare’s stagings in England in XX century. In 1990, he became the Head of Foreign Theatre History Department (GITIS). Since 1985, he has also been the Head of the Western Modern Art section in the State Institute of Art Studies.

Alexey has five monographs on the history of theatre published. The latest is Who Hamlet Is Written For (2014). Alexey is the Chairman of the Shakespeare Commission of the Russian Academy of Sciences. He was a member of the executive committee of International Shakespeare Association. He has taken part in a number of Shakespeare congresses and conferences both in Russia and abroad. He is has been nominated for several theatre awards (Stanislavsky Award, Award of Moscow, “The Seagull” Award, etc.) and is also the author and presenter of several TV programmes about Shakespeare.

Алексей Бартошевич

Алексей Бартошевич – участник книжной ярмарки Non/fiction, Почётным гостем которой в этом году является Великобритания. Мероприятие проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

О спикере

Алексей Бартошевич родился в 1939 году. Учился на театроведческом факультете ГИТИС, после окончания которого в 1961 году поступил в аспирантуру того же института по кафедре истории зарубежного театра. В 1965 году защитил кандидатскую диссертацию о комедиях Шекспира. Алексей Бартошевич много лет преподаёт курс истории зарубежного театра на разных факультетах. В 1985 году после защиты докторской диссертации по истории постановок Шекспира в Англии XХ века получил звание профессора. С 1990 года является заведующим кафедры истории зарубежного театра ГИТИСа, а с 1985 года – заведующим сектором современного искусства Запада Государственного института искусствознания.

Алексей Бартошевич выпустил пять монографий по истории театра. Последняя по времени – «Для кого написан «Гамлет» (2014). Председатель Шекспировской комиссии Совета по истории мировой культуры РАН. Был членом исполкома Международной Шекспировской Ассоциации. Участвовал в ряде Шекспировских конгрессов и конференций в России и за рубежом. Лауреат нескольких театральных премий (премия Станиславского, премия Москвы, премия "Чайка" и др.). Выступал в качестве автора и ведущего телевизионных программ о Шекспире.