A British writer David Almond is a participant of the 18th International Book Fair for High-Quality Fiction and Non-Fiction, where the United Kingdom will be the Country of Honour this year as a part of the UK-Russia Year of Language and Literature 2016.

About the AUTHOR

David Almond is one of the UK’s most beloved authors for adults and children, and his books are bestsellers all over the world, with sales of over 1 million. 

He is a twice winner of the Whitbread Children's Book Award. He first won the award with Skellig, which also won a Carnegie Medal and has since been adapted into an opera, a film and a stage play (The Young Vic, 2003). The second Whitbread winner was The Fire-Eaters. Other award winning titles include Clay, and Kit’s Wilderness.

Viking published David’s second novel for adults, The Tight-Rope Walkers, in 2014. David’s children's play, Wild Girl, Wild Boy toured the UK in 2001. His young adults’ novel Heaven Eyes premiered in a stage adaptation at The Edinburgh Fringe in 2005.

In 2010 he won the internationally recognised Hans Christian Andersen Medal. Describing Almond as "a creator of magical realism for children", the jury praised his "unique voice" and the way he "captures his young readers' imagination and motivates them to read, think and be critical". "His use of language is sophisticated and reaches across the ages". In 2013 he was given the Eleanor Farjeon Award, which recognises an outstanding contribution to the world of children’s books by an individual or organisation.

His books were translated into Russian and published in Samokat and Azbuka Publishing Houses.

Дэвид Алмонд

Британский писатель Дэвид Алмонд – участник книжной ярмарки Non/fiction, Почётным гостем которой в этом году является Великобритания. Мероприятие проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

ОБ АВТОРЕ

Дэвид Алмонд дважды становился лауреатом премии Whitbread Children's Book Award за детскую литературу. В первый раз – за удостоенную также медали Карнеги книгу «Скеллиг», по которой был снят фильм, поставлена опера и театральная пьеса (театр Young Vic, 2003). Во второй раз – за книгу «Огнеглотатели». Награды также получили «Глина» и Kit’s Wilderness.

В 2014 году в издательстве Viking вышел второй роман Дэвида Алмонда для взрослых читателей The Tight-Rope Walkers («Канатоходцы»). Театральная постановка для детей Wild Girl, Wild Boy гастролировала по Великобритании в 2001 году, а спектакль по роману для юношества «Небоглазка» был впервые показан в 2005 году на эдинбургском фестивале Fringe.

В 2010 году Дэвид Алмонд удостоился престижной медали Ганса Христиана Андерсена. Международное жюри отметило «уникальное звучание» его произведений, «изобретательность и универсальность языка», «умение захватить воображение юных читателей и подтолкнуть к чтению и критическому мышлению». В 2013 году писатель получил премию Элеанор Фарджон за выдающийся вклад в детскую литературу.

Дэвид Алмонд широко известен как один из самых увлекательных и необычных детских авторов современности, его книги стали бестселлерами во многих странах мира с общим тиражом более миллиона экземпляров. В русском переводе они публиковались издательствами «Самокат» и «Азбука».