A British writer Jenny Broom is a participant of the 18th International Book Fair for High-Quality Fiction and Non-Fiction, where the United Kingdom will be the Country of Honour this year as a part of the UK-Russia Year of Language and Literature 2016.

About the AUTHOR

Jim Crace’s novels, including the Man-Booker shortlisted Harvest, are celebrated for their formal inventiveness, often blending historical fiction with subtle dialogues on contemporary issues.

He was born in Hertfordshire, England, in 1946 and brought up in north London. After reading English Literature at the University of London and Voluntary Service Overseas charity work in Sudan he began writing fiction in the mid 1970s publishing his first story 'Annie, California Plates', in 1974.

Jim is widely regarded as an innovative, original writer adept at creating imaginary worlds and landscapes. His first book, Continent (1986), consists of seven interconnected stories set on an imaginary seventh continent, exploring Western attitudes to the Third World. It won the Whitbread First Novel Award, the Guardian Fiction Prize and the David Higham Prize for Fiction. Other well-known titles include The Gift of Stones (1988), Arcadia (1992) and Signals of Distress (1994), the latter, which explores the events surrounding a shipwreck off the Cornish coast in the 1830s, won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize. Quarantine (1997), shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction, is a reworking of the biblical account of Jesus's 40 days spent in the wilderness while Being Dead (1999) which won the Whitbread Novel Award, the National Book Critics' Circle Fiction Award (USA), narrates the murder and physical decomposition of a couple on a remote beach, interpolated with episodes from their life.

His more recent novels include On Heat (2008), All That Follows (2010), and Harvest (2013), which won the 2013 James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award in 2015.

Jim Crace was awarded the E. M. Forster Award by the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1992 and became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1999. In 2000, he received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Central England for Distinguished Literary Achievements.

He lives in Birmingham with his wife and two children.

Джим Крейс

Британский писатель Джим Крейс – участник книжной ярмарки Non/fiction, Почётным гостем которой в этом году является Великобритания. Мероприятие проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

Об авторе

Джим Крейс родился в 1946 году в Хартфордшире и вырос в северном Лондоне. Он изучал английскую литературу в Лондонском университете, работал в Судане по заданию благотворительной организации Voluntary Services Overseas, а затем стал писать прозу и в 1974 году опубликовал свой первый рассказ Annie, California Plates.

Джим Крейс славится своим умением создавать оригинальные воображаемые миры. Его первая книга Continent («Континент»,1986) состоит из семи взаимосвязанных историй, где действие происходит на несуществующем седьмом континенте, и анализирует отношение Запада к странам Третьего мира. Книга получила премии Whitbread First Novel Award, Guardian Fiction Prize и David Higham Prize. В ряду других известных работ Крейса можно назвать The Gift of Stones (1988), Arcadia (1992) и Signals of Distress («Сигналы бедствия», 1994). Последний посвящён событиям вокруг кораблекрушения у берегов Корнуолла в 1830-х гг. и получил премию Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize. Роман Quarantine («Карантин», 1997), вошедший в короткий список Букеровской премии, основан на библейском сюжете о сорока днях, проведённых Иисусом в пустыне. В романе Being Dead («Быть мёртвым», 1999), удостоенном премий Whitbread Novel Award и National Book Critics' Circle Fiction Award, рассказ об убийстве и физическом распаде семейной пары на дальнем морском берегу перемежается эпизодами из их жизни.

Среди последних романов Джима Крейса – On Heat (2008), All That Follows (2010) и Harvest («Урожай», 2013), получивший в 2013 году премию James Tait Black Memorial Prize, а в 2015 – премию International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

В 1992 году Джим Крейс получил приз E. M. Forster Award от Американской академии искусств и литературы, а в 1999 году был избран членом Королевского литературного общества. В 2002 году Университет Центральной Англии присудил ему почётную докторскую степень за выдающиеся достижения в литературе.

Джим Крейс живёт в Бирмингеме с женой и двумя детьми.