A British writer Laline Paull is a participant of the 18th International Book Fair for High-Quality Fiction and Non-Fiction, where the United Kingdom will be the Country of Honour this year as a part of the UK-Russia Year of Language and Literature 2016.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Laline Paull’s debut novel The Bees was a literary sensation in the UK; it was shortlisted for theBaileys Women’s Prizeand won theOrion Prizein 2015 and was a part of the All-Russian Competition for Russian Translators of English organized by the British Council. Her second novel, set in England and the Arctic past and future, will be published by 4th Estate in 2017.

Of Indian heritage and British birth, Laline Paull studied English at Oxford, screenwriting in Los Angeles and journalism in New York before returning to London to write for the stage. Her plays have been performed at the National Theatre, and she has also devised and directed 18-hour dramathons for young people at London’s Roundhouse theatre.

Besides writing Laline Paull has worked as a chef, a farm-sitter, and a veterinary nurse. She is married with children and lives by the sea. She writes in a shed.

Лалин Полл

Британская писательница Лалин Полл – участник книжной ярмарки Non/fiction, Почётным гостем которой в этом году является Великобритания. Мероприятие проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

об авторе

Дебютный роман Лалин Полл "The Bees" («Пчёлы») попал в короткий список премии Baileys Women’s Prize и удостоился американской награды Orion Book Award в 2015 году. Отрывок из него предложен на Всероссийском конкурсе художественного перевода, организованном Британский Советом. Вторую книгу Лалин, где действие разворачивается в Англии, а также Арктике в прошлом и будущем, в 2017 году опубликует издательство 4th Estate.

Дочь индийских иммигрантов, Лалин Полл родилась в Англии. Она изучала английскую литературу в Оксфорде, сценарное мастерство в Лос-Анджелесе, драматургию в Лондоне, и училась на журналиста в Нью-Йорке. Ее пьесы ставили в Королевском национальном театре, а в концертном зале Roundhouse под руководством Лалин прошёл 18-часовой молодежный театральный марафон. Лалин приходилось работать шеф-поваром, помощником фермера и ветеринаром. Она живет с мужем и детьми на южном побережье Англии и пишет в домике в саду.