A British writer Sebastian Faulks is a participant of the 18th International Book Fair for High-Quality Fiction and Non-Fiction, where the United Kingdom will be the Country of Honour this year as a part of the UK-Russia Year of Language and Literature 2016.

About the AUTHOR

Sebastian Faulks was born in Donnington, a village near Newbury, Berkshire in 1953. He read English at Emmanuel College, Cambridge graduating in 1974, and was elected an Honorary Fellow in 2007. In his early career he joined the staff of the Daily Telegraph as the junior reporter then as a feature writer for the Sunday Telegraph until 1986, when he went to join the Independent as Literary Editor until 1991.

Sebastian Faulks became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1993 and was appointed CBE for Services to Literature in 2002. The Tavistock Clinic in association with the University of East London awarded him an honorary doctorate for his contribution to the understanding of psychiatry in Human Traces.

Sebastian Faulks’s books include the number one bestseller A Week in December, Engleby  and the hugely acclaimed first-world war novel Birdsong, which has sold more than three million copies. In 2011 he wrote and presented the four-part television series Faulks on Fiction for BBC Two and in 2014, he collaborated on an anthology to coordinate with the First World War Centenary Commemoration, A Broken World. His latest novel, Where My Heart Used to Beat, will be presented at non/fiction book fair in Russian. This October saw the release of Pistache Returns, a follow up to Pistache (2006), a collection of parodies of classic writers from Austen to Beckett.

 He has appeared on the professional stage in England, plays tennis in a London league and cricket for the Authors XI. He has a dog called Hector.

Себастьян Фолкс

Британский писатель Себастьян Фолкс – участник книжной ярмарки Non/fiction, Почётным гостем которой в этом году является Великобритания. Мероприятие проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

ОБ авторе

Себастьян Фолкс родился в 1953 году в деревне Доннингтон близ Ньюбери в графстве Беркшир. Изучал английский язык и литературу в колледже Эммануэля в Кембридже, где позже в 2007 году был избран почётным членом. С 1979 года вёл ежедневную колонку в газете TheDailyTelegraph, в 1983–1986 писал статьи для The Sunday Telegraph, затем работал в The Independent литературным редактором и заместителем главного редактора воскресного выпуска до 1991 года.

В 1993 году Себастьян Фолкс был избран членом Королевского литературного общества, а в 2002 получил орден Британской империи за литературные заслуги. Тавистокская клиника совместно с Университетом Восточного Лондона присудили ему почётную докторскую степень за вклад в изучение истории психиатрии в романе «Человеческие черты».

В числе его книг – бестселлер «Неделя в декабре», «Возможная жизнь», «На улице Зелёного Дельфина» (On Green Dolphin Street), «Шарлотта Грей» (Charlotte Gray) и «И пели птицы…» – роман, распроданный общим тиражом более трёх миллионов экземпляров. В 2011 году Себастьян Фолкс представил на телеканале BBCTwo свой сериал в четырёх частях FaulksonFiction, а в 2014 году участвовал в составлении антологии A Broken World («Разбитый мир») по случаю столетия Первой мировой войны. Его последний роман Where My Heart Used to Beat («Там, где билось мое сердце») вышел 10 сентября в Великобритании, а его русский перевод будет представлен на ярмарке non/fiction.
Его новый сборник сатирических пародий и стилизаций Pistache Returns вышел в октябре этого года.

Себастьян Фолкс выступал на профессиональной театральной сцене в Англии, играет в теннис в Лондонской лиге, а также в крикет за команду AuthorsXI. У него есть собака по кличке Гектор.