Mix the City Moscow: listen to the sound of Moscow

Mix the City is a global digital platform, created by the British Council together with Flying Object Studio and Roll Studio which unites cities and people. This is a unique project combining digital art, music and urbanism.

The idea of the project originates from Tel Aviv and belongs to Emmanuel Witzthum, a musician and the head of the British Council Arts department in Israel. The project has drawn up an unusual musical map of the world, where cities with different geographical and cultural coordinates become neighbours. Mix the City allows you to make unique video clips by mixing audio-visual samples, recorded by the musicians in the most interesting parts of their cities.

Mix the City Moscow

The Moscow feature of the website invites users from all other the world to discover the sound of Moscow and create their own mixes interpreting the atmosphere of the city.

Representatives of both modern and classical music scenes participated in the project. Twelve performers recorded their mixes exclusively for Mix the City Moscow, including: Mikhail Petrenko, a famous bassist, conductor Yuri Bashmet, electro musician Pixielord, Naadya and DIY-band Playtronika, gusli player Olga Glazova, neo-folk band Synecdoche Montauk, Moscow beat makers Kovsh Beats, male choir Doros, accordion player Evgeniya Popova, musician, producer and writer Oleg Nesterov and thereminist Petr Termen

The curators of Mix the City Moscow are Raphael Rundell and Joe Goddard of Hot Chip and The 2 Bears.

The creators have managed to show the special atmosphere of Moscow – a city that combines cultural heritage of the past with the new trends of the big city.

Each of the musicians created their sample in one of the city’s landmarks: Playtronica was filmed on the steps of the VDNKH, one of the most popular public spaces of Moscow with more than 80 years of history. Alexey Devyanin (Pixielord) creates his samples on the deck of a unique cultural centre, the Brusov ship. The theremin, a unique instrument played by Petr Termen (the great grandson of the instrument’s inventor Lev Termen!), sounds particularly interesting in the walls of the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, while the voice of Mikhail Petrenko, one of the most sought-after bass singers in the world, echoes in the hall of Mayakovskaya station, one of the most beautiful stations of the Moscow Metro.

How Mix the City works

The Mix the City platform is easy to use; by clicking “make music” the user goes to the main page, where they can listen to 24 samples, mix them as they like with different sound effects into one video clip and then share the link with friends.

Create your own mix and share it with your friends on Mix the City Moscow!

Mix the City Moscow: узнай, как звучит Москва!

Mix the City – глобальная цифровая платформа, созданная Британским Советом совместно со студиями  Flying Objects и Roll Studio и объединяющая города и людей. Это уникальный проект на стыке цифрового искусства, музыки и урбанистики.  

Идея проекта родилась в Тель-Авиве и принадлежит Эммануэлю Витцуму – музыканту и руководителю отдела искусств Британского Совета в Израиле. Она подразумевает создание необычной музыкальной карты мира, на которой соседями оказываются города с разными географическими и культурными координатами. Mix the City позволяет составлять уникальные видеоклипы, смешивая аудиовизуальные семплы, записанные музыкантами в самых интересных местах их городов. 

Mix the City Moscow

Московская версия сайта приглашает пользователей со всего мира узнать, как звучит Москва, и сделать собственный микс, передающий атмосферу города. 

В проекте приняли участие представители как современной, так и классической музыкальной сцены. Специально для Mix the City Moscow свои композиции записали 12 исполнителей, среди которых: знаменитый бас Михаил Петренко, дирижер Юрий Башмет, цифровой музыкант Pixielord, певица Наадя и DIY-группа Playtronica, гусляр Ольга Глазова и нео-фолк коллектив «Синекдоха Монток», московские битмейкеры KOVSH Beats, мужской вокальный ансамбль «Дорос», аккордеонист Евгения Попова, музыкант, продюсер и писатель Олег Нестеров исполнитель музыки на терменвоксе Петр Термен

Кураторами Mix the City Moscow выступили участники групп Hot Chip и The 2 Bears Джо Годдард и Рафаэль Ранделл. 

Создателям Mix the city Moscow удалось передать особую атмосферу Москвы – города, в котором гармонично сочетается культурное наследие прошлого и новые тренды большого мегаполиса.

Каждый из музыкантов создавал звуковой трек в одном из знаковых мест города: запись с Playtronica  снимали на ступеньках ВДНХ – одного из самых популярных общественных пространств Москвы с более чем 80-летней историей. Алексей Девянин, Pixielord, создаёт сэмплы на палубе уникального творческого кластера - корабля «Брюсов». В стенах музея современного искусства «Гараж» особенно интересно звучит уникальный электромузыкальный инструмент – терменвокс: правнук Льва Термена, изобретателя инструмента, Петр Термен управляет звуком с помощью движений рук в воздухе. А голос Михаила Петренко, одного из самых востребованных басов в мире, звучит в вестибюле «Маяковской» - красивейшей станции Московского метрополитена.

Как работает Mix the City

Цифровая платформа Mix the City Moscow удобна и проста в использовании: кликая на кнопку «создать микс», пользователь оказывается на главной странице, где можно прослушать 24 аудиофайла, смешать их по своему вкусу с разными эффектами в единый видеоклип, а потом поделиться ссылкой на записанное видео со всеми.

Создайте свой микс и расскажите об этом друзьям на Mix the City Moscow!