Midsummer Nights Festival is a highlight of Shakespeare Lives, the British Council's global celebration of Shakespeare’s life and work to mark the 400th anniversary of his death. Shakespeare's legacy as a writer and chronicler of the human spirit remains undimmed and each year sees new stage and screen adaptations appearing in theatres and cinemas around the world.

To launch the Midsummer Nights Festival, Ian McKellen is travelling to Russia to present his solo show Shakespeare on Stage, Screen and Elsewhere. The renowned actor will discuss his impressive range of Shakespearean performances, starting with Malvolio in Twelfth Night at the age of 12, to more than half of Shakespeare’s canon on stage. On 22 June at the Gogol Centre Theatre, Ian McKellen will also present his screen appearance as Richard III, recently re-presented by the BFI in cinemas and re-released on DVD.  

The heart of the six-day festival – a retrospective of British screen adaptations of Shakespeare’s plays and related events – will take place at MUZEON Art Park on 22-26 June. This will be a chance to see some of the finest cinematic adaptations of Shakespeare's work and attend lectures that will place the plays in the context of their times both culturally and historically. The programme is part of the British Council’s and British Film Institute's Shakespeare on Film component of the Shakespeare Lives global programme, supported by the GREAT Britain campaign.

Film programme

Audiences will have a chance to see Play On! Shakespeare in Silent Cinema, the BFI’s collection of short silent films showing the first brave attempts of the pioneers of British cinema to adapt Shakespeare’s plays, which will be accompanied live by a Moscow ensemble. Henry V (1944) is a classical patriotic masterpiece by Laurence Olivier, brimming with pageantry, battles and political deception. A pearl of the programme is a 4k restored version of one of the most famous screen adaptations of Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet (1968) by Franco Zeffirelli, with a brilliant soundtrack by Nino Rota and profound performance by Leonard Whiting, who will present the film in person.

While these films represent classical interpretations of Shakespeare’s works, another part of the programme presents experimental and even provocative approaches. Macbeth (1971) by Roman Polanski reflects his nightmarish vision of the classical tragedy about the lust of power and bloody consequences. Kenneth Branagh’s take on Much Ado About Nothing (1993) is testament to his creative abilities. Finally, Theatre of Blood (1973) by Douglas Hickox is a horror comedy in which famous Shakespearean murder scenes are re-enacted.  

Lecture programme

Around the film programme, the British Council will present a packed programme of lectures by key Russian and UK experts on Shakespeare drama, history, fashion and illustration. Dr Daniel Rosenthal, author of Shakespeare on Screen and 100 Shakespeare Films, will come to Moscow to talk about a global history of Shakespeare screen adaptations. Amber Butchart, fashion historian, broadcaster and Associate Lecturer at London College of Fashion, will look at the place of clothes in Shakespeare’s work and his subsequent influence on fashion design from Dior to Gareth Pugh. Christopher Rainbow, Course Director in Graphic Design and Illustration at the British Higher School of Art and Design in Moscow, will run a workshop and give a public talk on the illustration of Shakespeare over the centuries.

Alongside all this, there will be music, a special kids programme, Shakespeare English classes, a book stall and a thematic Shakespeare brunch by a well-known Moscow chef.

In partnership with CoolConnections, the British Council will also bring the Midsummer Nights Festival to Ekaterinburg (23-29 June, Salyut Cinema) and St Petersburg (25 June-1 July, Aurora Cinema).

The detailed programme

«Шекспир в летнюю ночь» в Москве, Петербурге и Екатеринбурге

Наследие великого английского поэта, драматурга и «летописца человеческих душ» Уильяма Шекспира и в наши дни не теряет своей актуальности: ежегодно в мире появляются новые театральные постановки и экранизации его главных произведений. Фестиваль «Шекспир в летнюю ночь», который начнется в день летнего солнцестояния, станет одним из ключевых событий программы Shakespeare Lives, которая проходит в рамках празднования 400-летия со дня смерти Великого Барда и Года языка и литературы России и Великобритании 2016.

Фестиваль в России торжественно откроет актер Иэн МакКеллен, уже ставший живой легендой не только в родной Британии, но и во всем мире. 22 июня в московском Гоголь-центре МакКеллен представит недавно отреставрированный Британским институтом кино фильм «Ричард III» (1995), в котором он исполнил главную роль. Знаменитый актер поделится со зрителями своим богатым опытом исполнения ролей шекспировских персонажей: в возрасте 12 лет он дебютировал в роли Мальволио и с тех пор успел сыграть в постановках большинства пьес классика. 

Вход на кинопоказы и лекции (кроме кинопоказа с участием Йэна МакКеллена) – свободный по обязательной регистрации.

Лекции транслируются онлайн.

Кинопрограмма фестиваля

События основной программы фестиваля в Москве будут проходить на территории Парка искусств МУЗЕОН с 22 по 26 июня. Гостей ждет ретроспектива всемирно известных фильмов по мотивам шекспировских пьес, подготовленная Британским Советом и Британским институтом кино. Серию показов дополнят лекции, посвященные историческому и культурному контексту эпохи, в которой жил и работал знаменитый драматург.  

Зрители увидят уникальную коллекцию немых короткометражных картин с самыми первыми в истории английского кинематографа экранизациями шекспировских пьес в сопровождении живой музыки. В программу также войдут классическая постановка  «Генриха V» 1944 года с Лоуренсом Оливье и отреставрированная 4К-версия знаменитой экранизации «Ромео и Джульетты» Франко Дзеффирелли (1968). Фильм-легенду представит Леонард Уайтинг, исполнивший в нем роль Ромео.

Наряду с традиционными интерпретациями шекспировских драм, любители авторского кино смогут ознакомиться с картинами, которые предлагают экспериментальные трактовки классических сюжетов. Так, в своем «Макбете» (1971) скандальный режиссер Роман Полански воплотил мрачные фантазии о жажде власти и её кровавых последствиях, а в черной комедии «Театр Крови» (1973) Дуглас Хикокс собрал все самые известные сцены убийств из шекспировских произведений. Экранизация пьесы «Много шума из ничего» 93-го года, которую снял многократный номинант на «Оскар» Кеннет Брана, также достойна особого изучения.  

Образовательная программа фестиваля

Образовательная часть фестиваля будет включать в себя лекции российских и британских экспертов, которые расскажут о месте английского классика в мировой культуре – театре, моде и искусстве книжных иллюстраций. Дэниэль Розенталь, автор книг Shakespeare on Screen (Шекспир на экране) и 100 Shakespeare Films (100 фильмов по произведениям Шекспира), поговорит со слушателями о шекспировских экранизациях разных жанров и времен, а Эмбер Бутчард, историк моды, радиоведущая и приглашенный лектор London College of Fashion, расскажет о роли костюма в произведениях Шекспира и о том, какое влияние его творчество оказало на современных модельеров, в том числе Кристиана Диора и Гарета Пью. Кристофер Рейнбоу, руководитель курса «Графический дизайн» в Британской высшей школе дизайна в Москве, прочитает лекцию и проведет семинар, посвященные самым известным книжным иллюстрациям к шекспировским пьесам. Все лекции можно будет посмотреть онлайн

Кроме этого, в рамках фестиваля «Шекспир в летнюю ночь» будут организованы уроки английского языка, специальные мероприятия для детей, книжная лавка и тематический шекспировский бранч, меню для которого подготовит Алексей Зимин.

Продажа книг на фестивале «Шекспир в летнюю ночь»: тематическая подборка классических текстов Шекспира  и литературы о великом барде, его современниках и эпохе от партнёра фестиваля – книжного магазина «Циолковский».
На выходных тренеры бренда TIGI предложат вам создать прически по мотивам шекспировских пьес.

Фестиваль в Екатеринбурге и Санкт-Петербурге

Кинопрограмма фестиваля будет также показана в Екатеринбурге (23–29 июня, кинотеатр Салют) и Санкт-Петербурге (25 июня–1 июля, кинотеатр Аврора) при поддержке арт-объединения CoolConnections.