©

Adrian Harvey

This extract from the novel "Our Endless Numbered Days" by Claire Fuller is presented as part of the UK-Russia Year of language and Literature 2016's New writing from the UK: a competition for Russian translators of English.

The translation is made by Marina Izvekova (Voronezh).

Claire Fuller "Our Endless Numbered Days" (2015)

Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Fig Tree / Penguin Random House 
Awards: Winner of the Desmond Elliot Prize, 2015

Claire Fuller has written many short stories and pieces of flash fiction, several of which have been published and won competitions including the BBC's Opening Lines. She has an MA in Creative and Critical Writing from The University of Winchester, and lives in Winchester, England with her husband and children.

Claire Fuller’s debut novel, Our Endless Numbered Days was published by Penguin in 2015 and went onto win that year's Desmond Elliott prize. It has also been published the US, Canada and France, and has or will be published in a further eight countries. Her second novel, Swimming Lessons will be published in 2017.

1976: Peggy Hillcoat is eight. She spends her summer camping with her father, playing her beloved record of The Railway Children and listening to her mother's grand piano, but her pretty life is about to change. Her survivalist father, who has been stockpiling provisions for the end which is surely coming soon, takes her from London to a cabin in a remote European forest. There he tells Peggy the rest of the world has disappeared. Her life is reduced to a piano which makes music but no sound, a forest where all that grows is a means of survival. And a tiny wooden hut that is Everything.

Клэр Фуллер "Our Endless Numbered Days"

Отрывок из романа Клэр Фуллер представлен для Всероссийского конкурса художественного перевода, который проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

Перевод выполнен Мариной Извековой (Воронеж)

Клэр Фуллер "Our Endless Numbered Days" (2015)

Награды: лауреат  премии имени Десмонда Эллиота, 2015 г.

Дебютный роман Клэр Фуллер «Our Endless Numbered Days» был опубликован издательством Penguin в 2015 г. и в том же году получил премию имени Десмонда Эллиотта. Клэр окончила Школу Искусств в Винчестере, где изучала скульптуру (работая в основном по дереву и камню), после чего получила специальность в области маркетинга.

Свою первую книгу Клэр написала в возрасте 40 лет, сейчас она – магистр гуманитарных наук в области художественного письма и литературной критики университета Винчестера. Клэр замужем, воспитывает сына и дочь. Живёт в Винчестере.

Роман «Our Endless Numbered Days» был опубликован в Великобритании, США, Канаде, в ближайшее время он выйдет во Франции, Израиле, Турции, Италии, Голландии и Тайвани.

1976 год, Пегги Хилкоат  восемь лет. Однажды её отец Джеймс – участник движения за выживание – забирает девочку из Лондона, привозит её в хижину в лесу и объявляет, что остального мира больше нет. Пегги и Джеймс обустраивают свою жизнь: чинят хижину, охотятся и собирают ягоды летом, практически голодают зимой. Они ведут счёт дням по закатам и по смене времён года. Как-то раз Пегги обнаруживает в лесу пару ботинок и принимается искать их владельца. В ходе поисков она узнаёт, как именно она попала в лес, и понимает, что ей нужно вернуться домой к матери, которую, как она думала, она потеряла. Пегги возвращается в цивилизованный мир, и её мать узнаёт о побеге дочери из леса, о том, что случилось с Джеймсом в последнюю ночь, и какой секрет Пегги принесла с собой.