©

Adrian Peacock

This extract from the novel "The Bees" by Laline Paull is presented as part of the UK-Russia Year of language and Literature 2016's New writing from the UK: a competition for Russian translators of English.

The translation is made by Bulat Vafin (Kazan).

Laline Paull "The Bees" (2015)

Genre: Fiction – Literary SFF
Publisher: Fourth Estate/ HarperCollins
Awards: Shortlisted for Baileys Womens Prize for Fiction, 2015; Long listed for Desmond Elliott, 2015

Laline Paull was born in England. Her parents were first-generation Indian immigrants. She studied English at Oxford, screenwriting in Los Angeles, and theatre in London, where she has had two plays performed at the Royal National Theatre. She is a member of BAFTA and the Writers’ Guild of America. She lives just outside Hastings on the south coast of England, with her husband (the photographer Adrian Peacock), her daughter, two step-sons and one ancient cat.

The Bees is her first novel and she’s currently working on her second.

Enter a whole new world, in this thrilling debut novel set entirely within a beehive. Born into the lowest class of her society, Flora 717 is a sanitation bee, only fit to clean her orchard hive. Living to accept, obey and serve, she is prepared to sacrifice everything for her beloved holy mother, the Queen. But Flora is not like other bees. Despite her ugliness she has talents that are not typical of her kin. While mutant bees are usually instantly destroyed, Flora is removed from sanitation duty and is allowed to feed the newborns, before becoming a forager, collecting pollen on the wing. She also finds her way into the Queens inner sanctum, where she discovers secrets both sublime and ominous. But enemies are everywhere, from the fearsome fertility police to the high priestesses who jealously guard the Hive Mind. And when Flora breaks the most sacred law of all her instinct to serve is overshadowed by an even deeper desire, a fierce love that will lead to the unthinkable... Laline Paulls chilling yet ultimately triumphant novel creates a luminous world both alien and uncannily familiar. Thrilling and imaginative, The Bees is the story of a heroine who, in the face of an increasingly desperate struggle for survival, changes her destiny and her world.

Лалин Полл "The Bees"

Отрывок из романа Лалин Полл представлен для Всероссийского конкурса художественного перевода, который проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

Перевод подготовил Булат Вафин (Казань).

Лалин Полл "The Bees" (2015)

Награды: шорт-лист премии Baileys Women’s Prize за художественную прозу, 2015; лонг-лист премии имени Десмонда Эллиота, 2015

Лалин Полл родилась в Англии. Её родители были индийскими иммигрантами в первом поколении. Изучала английский язык в Оксфорде, сценарное мастерство в Лос-Анджелесе, драматургию в Лондоне. Две её пьесы были поставлены в Королевском национальном театре. Лалин является членом Британской академии кино и телевизионных искусств и Гильдии писателей США. Она живёт в пригороде Гастингса на южном побережье Англии с мужем, дочерью, двумя пасынками и старой кошкой.

«The Bees» – дебютный роман писательницы.

Действие этого увлекательного дебютного романа происходит в пчелином улье. Родившись в низшем классе общества, пчела Флора 717 всю свою жизнь трудится уборщицей улья во фруктовом саду. Смысл её существования – повиноваться и служить, она готова принести себя в жертву ради любимой благодетельницы, Пчелиной Королевы. Но Флора отличается от других пчёл. Несмотря на уродство, она обладает особыми талантами. Хотя пчёл-мутантов обычно сразу убивают, Флоре удается выжить; из уборщиц её переводят в кормилицы новорожденных, потом она становится сборщицей пыльцы. Ей даже удается попасть в покои Королевы, где она узнает великую страшную тайну. Её повсюду окружают враги, от свирепых трутней-полицейских до верховной жрицы, охраняющей Разум Улья. А когда Флора нарушает священный закон, её инстинкт служить уступает место более сильному чувству: всепоглощающей любви, которая приведёт её к невообразимым последствиям…

Пугающий, но в то же время наполненный ликованием роман Лалин Полл раскрывает перед нами чуждый и одновременно странно знакомый яркий мир. «The Bees» –захватывающая история о героине, которая отчаянно пытается выжить, а в итоге меняет свою судьбу.