©

Roeloff Bakker

This extract from the novel "The Good Son" by Paul McVeigh is presented as part of the UK-Russia Year of language and Literature 2016's New writing from the UK: a competition for Russian translators of English.

The translation is made by Natalya Krayushkina (Moscow).

Paul McVeigh "The Good Son" (2015)

Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Salt Publishing
Awards: City Read, 2016; Shortlisted for the Guardians Not the Booker

Born in Belfast, Paul McVeigh began his writing career as a playwright. He moved to London where he wrote comedy shows, which were performed at the Edinburgh Festival and in London's West End. His writing career moved into print, writing short stories that were published in literary journals and anthologies, read on BBC Radio 5 and commissioned by BBC Radio 4. He co-founded the London Short Story Festival.

The Good Son is his first novel, about a young boy growing up in Belfast during The Troubles. It has been called 'a work of genius' by Pulitzer Prize-winner Robert Olen Butler and the French and German editions will be released in 2016.
Lives in Brighton.

Mickey Donnelly is smart, which isn't a good thing in his part of town. Despite having a dog called Killer and being in love with the girl next door, everyone calls him 'gay'. It doesn't help that his best friend is his little sister, Wee Maggie, and that everyone knows he loves his Ma more than anything in the world. He doesn't think much of his older brother Paddy and really doesn't like his Da. He dreams of going to America, taking Wee Maggie and Ma with him, to get them away from Belfast and Da. Mickey realises it's all down to him. He has to protect Ma from herself. And sometimes, you have to be a bad boy to be a good son.

Пол МакВей "The Good Son"

Отрывок из романа Пола МакВея представлен для Всероссийского конкурса художественного перевода, который проходит в рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016.

Перевод выполнен Натальей Краюшкиной (Москва).

Пол МакВей "The Good Son" (2015)

Награды: премия City Read, 2016 г.; премия Not the Booker по версии Guardian

Обладатель множества литературных премий, писатель Пол МакВей родился в Белфасте. Начинал карьеру как драматург, писал сценарии комедийных шоу для Эдинбургского фестиваля и театров в лондонском Уэст-Энде. Его рассказы были опубликованы в литературных журналах и сборниках, звучали в эфире BBC Radio 5 и ВВС Radio 4. Пол – один из учредителей «Фестиваля рассказов» в Лондоне, выступал куратором и директором фестиваля в 2014 и 2015 гг. Он также является  помощником директора первого в Великобритании литературного салона коротких рассказов «Фабрика слов».

Пол участвовал в чтениях на Международной конференции по короткой прозе в Вене, на Международном фестивале в Воцлаве (Польша), дважды – на Международном фестивале в Корке, на Книжном фестивале в Белфасте, на Брайтонском фестивале, в эфире BBC Radio 5. В 2015 г. Пол МакВей получил премию McCrea Literary Award. 

Его дебютный роман «The Good Son»  вошёл в короткий список премии Not the Booker по версии Guardian, в 2016-м был выбран Книгой города в Брайтоне.

Микки Доннелли – смышлёный парень, но в районе, где он живёт, это не приветствуется. У него есть собака по кличке Убийца, он влюблён в соседскую девушку, но его все равно зовут «геем». Младшая сестрёнка, Малышка Мэгги, – его лучший друг, и он обожает маму больше всего на свете. Он не особенно ладит со старшим братом Пэдди и не любит папу. Он мечтает отправиться в Америку вместе с Малышкой Мэгги и мамой, забрать их из Белфаста, подальше от отца. Микки понимает, что всё зависит от него. Он должен защитить маму от неё самой. Иногда, чтобы стать хорошим сыном, приходится совершать плохие поступки.