Tuesday 26 September 2017 to Tuesday 31 October 2017

British Council invites students to take part in the open competition, which is a part of the nationwide Science Week which takes place on 23-27 October 2017, with the support of the Ministry of Science and Education of Russia. Three winners will travel to tha UK and receive other exciting prizes!

How to take part?

  • Make a short scientific video (1-10 minutes) in Russian, put it up on Youtube or Vimeo with a clear title and description. In the caption to the posted video indicate that the work participates in the Science Week in Schools competition and send a link to the address: before 31 October 2017 (18.00 Moscow time). 
  • In the text of the letter, tell about your video and indicate: name, school, city of residence, year of birth, phone (we recommend that you specify the data of the parent or teacher).
  • Please set the privacy settings of the video to ‘Public’.
  • Those who also post a video in Facebook or VKontakte with a hashtag #неделянауки_конкурс will also compete for the Audience Choice Award. The profile or post need to be public until 15 December 2017. The winner will be selected among those who will receive the most ‘likes’, reposts and comments. 

What kind of video should it be?

The plot of the video should be dedicated to science and technology or their development in the future. Participants can choose a topic on their own or from the list:

  • Space research
  • 3D printing
  • Robotics
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Portrayals of science and scientists in various art forms
  • Life on Enceladus (Saturn’s moon)
  • VR and AR (virtual and augmented reality)
  • Computer games from the point of view of IT, psychology, design
  • Impact of the technological progress on society

Video formats:

  • Scientific interview: a conversation with a scientists or teacher
  • Scientific lecture: deliver you own lecture!
  • Science experiment: demonstrate a scientific experiment in front of a camera

Who can participate?

Students of Russian schools aged 7-17 (as of 31 August 2018). 

All participants have to be Russian citizens living in Russia. Minimum level of English — Elementary.

Competition results

Winners will be selected in three age groups:

  • Ages 7-10
  • Ages 11-14
  • Ages 15-17

Winners will be selected by the expert panel comprised of the representatives of online school “Foxford” and the British Council. The results will be announced on 30 November 2017 on the British Council website and it accounts in social media. The competition organisers will contact the winners via email.

Award ceremony will take place at the British Council office in Moscow (1 Nikoloyamskaya St). The winners will also be able to receive prizes via post.

All participants will receive certificates of participation.

Competition prizes

The main prizes of the competition are three 2-week English courses at Brooke House College or Centre of English Studies. All participants will receive a special prize by "Foxford" online school — promo code for a one-year standard online course.

The main prize also includes:

  • accommodation and full board for the duration of the trip
  • return air fare from the participants city of residence to London, transfer from the airport to the school and back
  • visa fee and medical insurance.

The accommodation is provided with the carefully selected families, checked by the schools’ security teams, or in student residences (single accommodation with private bathroom). The trips will take place in summer 2018.  

Brooke House College

Brooke House College is a summer language school located in Market Harborough, a 2-hour drive from London. For more than 30 years, Brooke House has been offering students at the age of 10 years to spend a vacation in Britain not only learning the language, but also doing sports: golf, horse riding, karting, football, volleyball and other active activities.

The campus occupies about 2 hectares. It features a training building, residences, sports grounds, a green zone. The school organises excursions to London, Oxford, Cambridge, York, Warwick Castle or even to train the football team of Manchester United. 

A distinctive feature of the boarding school is the high academic requirements. 98% of graduates continue to receive education in prestigious universities.

Centre of English Studies

Centre of English Studies is a network of language schools in the UK accredited by the British Council and English UK, with campuses in Leeds, London, Oxford, Worthing, Harrogate and Edinburgh. The school offers courses for any level of language proficiency and a varied excursion and entertainment program. Available courses: General English, Intensive, IELTS Preparation, etc.


Foxford is an online school for school students (grades 3-11), teachers and parents. Online courses and individual lessons with a tutor help students prepare for the USE, OSE, olympiads, and study school subjects. Classes are taught by the tuturs from Moscow State University, MIPT, Higher School of Economics and other leading universities of the country.

For detailed Terms and Conditions, please consult the file attached (in Russian).

Date
вторник 26 сентябрь 2017 - вторник 31 октябрь 2017
Location
Россия

Британский Совет объявляет открытый конкурс для школьников в рамках всероссийской «Недели науки», которая пройдет в школах страны 23-27 октября 2017 года при поддержке Министерства образования и науки РФ. Трех победителей конкурса ждут поездки в Великобританию и другие призы!

Как принять участие?

  • Снять короткое научное видео (1-10 мин) на русском языке, выложить его на Youtube или Vimeo с понятным названием и описанием. В подписи к выложенному видео указать, что работа участвует в конкурсе в рамках “Недели науки в школах” и прислать ссылку на адрес: competition@britishcouncil.ru до 31 октября 2017 года (до 18.00 Мск)
  • В тексте письма расскать о своем видео и указать: ФИО, школу, город проживания, год рождения, телефон (рекомендуем указать данные родителя или учителя).
  • В подписи к видео, которое должно быть доступно всем для просмотра, необходимо указать что работа участвует в конкурсе в рамках «Недели науки в школах». 
  • В дополнительном розыгрыше "Приза зрительских симпатий" примут участие те, кто также разместит видео в Facebook или Вконтакте с хэштегом #неделянауки_конкурс (профиль или публикация должны быть открыты для всех в период  до 15 декабря 2017 года) и соберут к своей работе больше всего лайков, репостов и комментариев.

Какое это может быть видео?

Сюжет видеоролика должныен быть посвящен науке и технологиям или их развитию в будущем. Участники могут выбрать тему самостоятельно или из предложенного списка:

  • исследование космоса и космонавтика
  • 3D-печать
  • робототехника
  • искусственный интеллект
  • образы науки и ученых в разных видах искусства
  • жизнь на спутнике Сатурна
  • VR и AR (виртуальная и дополненная реальность)
  • компьютерные игры с точки зрения IT-технологий, психологии, дизайна 
  • влияние технического прогресса на общество

Форматы видео:

  • «Научное интервью»: можно взять интервью у своего учителя или ученого
  • «Моя научная лекция»: прочитай лекцию сам!
  • «Научный эксперимент»: проведи научный опыт перед камерой

Кто может принять участие?

Учащиеся российских школ в возрасте от 7 до 17 лет (на 31 августа 2018 года). 

Участвовать могут только граждане РФ, проживающие на территории России. Уровень английского — не ниже Elementary.

Итоги конкурса

Победители конкурса будут определены в трех возрастных группах:

  • 7 - 10 лет
  • 11 - 14 лет
  • 15 - 17 лет

Победителей конкурса выберет экспертное жюри из представителей онлайн-школы «Фоксфорд» и Британского Совета. Итоги конкурса будут объявлены 30 ноября 2017 года на сайте Британского Совета и в его аккаунтах в социальных сетях. Организаторы конкурса также свяжутся с победителями по электронной почте.

Вручение призов (сертификатов на поездку и подарков от партнеров) состоится в офисе Британского Совета в Москве (ул. Николоямская, д.1), их также можно будет получить по почте.

Все участники Конкурса получат сертификаты об участии в проекте.

Призы конкурса

Победитель “Конкурса зрительских симпатий” и призеры Конкурса (пять лучших работ в каждой возрастной категории) получат подарки от партнеров “Недели науки в школах".

Главный приз конкурса – две недели обучения английскому языку в летней школе Brooke House College или в Centre of English Studies, а также подарок от онлайн-школы «Фоксфорд» — промокод на бесплатное прохождение любого из онлайн-курсов, представленных на сайте школы.

Главный приз также включает в себя:

  • Проживание и питание на время обучения 
  • Перелет от города проживания победителя конкурса до Лондона  и обратно, трансфер из аэропорта в Великобритании до школы и обратно
  • Визу и медицинскую страховку

Проживание предоставляется в семьях, которые специально отбираются и проверяются, и резиденциях в одноместных комнатах с личной ванной. Поездки состоятся летом 2018 года.

Brooke House College

Brooke House College – это летняя языковая школа, расположенная в городке Маркет Харборо в 2 часах езды от Лондона. Уже более 30 лет Brooke House предлагает студентам в возрасте от 10 лет провести каникулы в Британии ярко, насыщенно и с пользой - не только изучая язык, но и занимаясь спортом: гольфом, верховой ездой, картингом, футболом, волейболом и другими активными видами отдыха.

Территория кампуса занимает около 2 гектаров. На них расположены учебный корпус, резиденции, спортплощадки, зеленая зона. Школа организовывает экскурсии в Лондон, Оксфорд, Кембридж, Йорк, Замок Уорик (Warwick Castle) или даже на тренировку футбольной команды Манчестер Юнайтед. 

Отличительной особенностью школы-пансиона являются высокие академические требования. 98% выпускников продолжают получение образования в престижных университетах, также вчерашние студенты школы без труда поступают в вузы Америки и Канады.

Centre of English Studies

Centre of English Studies — сеть языковых школ в Великобритании, аккредитованная Британским Советом и English UK, с кампусами в Лидсе, Лондоне, Оксфорде, Уэртинге, Харрогейте и Эдинбурге. Школа предлагает курсы для любого уровня владения языком и разнообразную экскурсионно-развлекательную программу. Курсы: общий английский, интенсивный курс, подготовка к экзаменам IELTS и др.

Фоксфорд

Фоксфорд  — онлайн-школа для учеников 3−11 классов, учителей и родителей. На онлайн-курсах и индивидуальных занятиях с репетитором школьники готовятся к ЕГЭ, ОГЭ, олимпиадам, изучают школьные предметы. Занятия ведут преподаватели МГУ, МФТИ, ВШЭ и других ведущих вузов страны.

Подробные условия конкурса  — в приложенном ниже файле.