Date
Friday 20 June 2014 - 00:00
Location
Strelka Institute for Media, Architecture and Design, Moscow

On 20 June Strelka Institute for Media, Architecture and Design hosted one in a series of Selector Live Beefeater Sessions, traditionally featuring cutting edge British music.

The upcoming party featured three collectives: classics of intelligent electronic music Plaid presenting their new album, bass music stars King Midas Sound and Elephant, a young British duo with dreamy romantic pop tunes.

This year of Selector Live parties has enabled Moscow’s public to get to grips with the modern British music scene in all its diversity. At Selector Live parties, Ital Tek’s deep electronic music alternated with Egyptian Hip Hop’s guitar psychedelics, Troumaca’s buoyant dance style accentuated Dean Blunt’s avant-garde noise, and Wild Beasts’ airy art rock was followed by Young Knives’ melancholic indie pop.

With Beefeater, a fashionable and dynamic brand with a true British character, the new season of Selector Live Beefeater Sessions is set to be even more powerful.

You can see phtos from the partie on our Flickr.

LINE-UP

PLAID

Duo Plaid comprises Ed Handley and Andy Turner, who are veterans of ‘intellectual dance music’ or IDM and along with Squarepusher and Boards of Canada are signed to the important British label Warp Aphex Twin. For more than twenty years these dedicated techno geeks have been experimenting with synthetic engineering of melodic sounds.

Bjork’s friends, Plaid toured with the singer in support of the album Post and they used her voice in their recordings. The duo have also worked with Unkle, Goldfrapp, Orbital and Radiohead. 2006 saw the DVD album release of Greedy Baby, a collaboration between Plaid and video artist Bob Jaroc. In 2008, Plaid recorded the soundtrack for a Japanese remake of the German movie Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door.

In May 2014 Plaid released its tenth album Reachy Prints, which was named as «one of the most outstanding electronic albums to come out this year» by Popmatters and «a nine-song reminder of their talent» by In Your Speakers.Plaid are returning to Moscow after a three year break in great shape and joined by a guitarist.

Plaid — Hawkmoth

KING MIDAS SOUND

In the late 80 s Kevin Martin recorded screamy jazzcore under GOD in collaboration with Justin Broadrick, formerly of Napalm Death and later of Godflesh. In the 90 s Kevin produced six albums with industrial hip-hop and ambient-music ians Techno Animal and in the 2000 s he created an influential dubstep project; The Bug. The Bug’s albums were released on Rephlex Records owned by Aphex Twin and on independent electronic label Ninja Tune. Bug projects have included collaborations with reggae artists and MCs including Cutty Ranks, Flow Dan, and Warrior Queen.

King Midas Sound is a musical crossover project, composed by Kevin Martin and poet Roger Robinson. Sparse, ghostly music is wrapped around quiet and soft, cottony singing reminiscent of the early days of Bristol’s trip hop scene (Massive Attack meets dubstep). King Midas Sound’s first two albums were released on Hyperdub, a leading electronic music label of the last ten years headed up by Kode9, for the third album the band moved over to Ninja Tune known for its experiments with bass music.It is no wonder that «Afisha» wrote that ‘if bass had its ministry [Kevin] Martin would have been the head of it».

The Bug — Catch a Fire
King Midas Sound Live at Supersonic 2010
King Midas Sound — Cool out/Catch a fire
King Midas Sound — Funny Love

ELEPHANT

Amelia Rivas and Christian Pinchbeck met at a house party, the next day Amelia went round to Christian’s flat with a 10 Casio and didn’t leave for 3 days. This rendezvous led to an entire demo EP imbued with romantic resonance.

With their debut full length record Sky Swimming released in 2014, Elephant was marked by The Guardian among the new bands of the year. Dreamy charming Elephant songs reference psychedelic pop music of the 60 s, showcasing Amelia’s tremulous voice and featuring hip hop beats.

Elephant — Skyscraper
Elephant — Shapeshifter
Elephant — Come to me

SELECTOR LIVE

Produced by the British Council, Selector is broadcast from London to an audience of over three million radio listeners in 40 countries. The Guardian named Selector as «the most curiously programmed music radio show in Britain. «Since April 2013, Selector has broadcast weekly shows on radio Megapolis 89.5FM.

Apart from the radio show, Selector presents a series of parties that are «as educational as the show», according to Kommersant. Selector parties involving some of the most interesting modern British artists take place at the hottest Moscow venues and introduce Moscow’s public to various modern music styles.

Date
пятница 20 июнь 2014 - 00:00
Location
Институа медиа, архитектуры и дизайна «Стрелка», Москва

20 июня серия вечеринок Selector Live Beefeater Sessions, по традиции представляющих самую актуальную британскую музыку, продолжилась ночным концертом на площадке Института медиа, архитектуры и дизайна «Стрелка».

Хедлайнерами первой летней вечеринки серии Selector Live Beefeater Sessions стали три коллектива: классики интеллигентной электроники Plaid, презентующие новый альбом, звезды бас-музыки King Midas Sound и молодой британский дуэт Elephant с легким и романтичным звучанием.

За год проведения вечеринок Selector Live московская публика успела познакомиться с современной британской музыкальной сценой во всем ее разнообразии. На вечеринках Selector Live новая электроника Ital Tek сменяла гитарную психоделию Egyptian Hip Hop; бодрый танцевальный стиль Troumaca оттенял авангардный нойз Dean Blunt, а за воздушным арт-роком Wild Beasts следовал меланхоличный инди-поп Young Knives и соул на грани трип-хопа МОКО. Благодаря партнерству с Beefeater — модным и динамичным брендом с истинно британским характером, новый сезон вечеринок Selector Live Beefeater Sessions стал еще мощнее.

Фотографии с вечеринки можно посмотреть в нашем альбоме на Flickr.

LINE-UP

PLAID
Дуэт Plaid, состоящий из Эндрю Тернера и Эда Хэндли,— одни из корифеев «интеллектуальной танцевальной музыки» или IDM, наряду с коллегами по важному британскому лейблу Warp Aphex Twin, Squarepusher и Boards of Canada. Эндрю и Эд уже больше двадцати лет с упорством техно-гиков разбирают окружающий мир на звуки и собирают его в своей многослойной, мелодичной, технически совершенной музыке.

Большие друзья Бьорк, сопровождавшие ее в туре с альбомом «Post» и записавшие ее голос в нескольких своих треках, Plaid также работали с Unkle, Goldfrapp, Orbital и Radiohead. В 2006 году на DVD вышел пятый по счету аудиовизуальный альбом «Greedy Baby», объединивший музыку дуэта с видеорядом режиссера Боба Джарока, а в 2008 Plaid записали саундтрек к японскому римейку фильма «Достучаться до небес».

В мае 2014 года вышел новый, десятый альбом Plaid «Reachy Prints», «самый выдающийся альбом этого года»,— по версии Popmatters и «напоминание из десяти песен, почему Plaid великая группа» — по мнению издания In Your Speakers. В Москву дуэт Plaid возвращается после трехлетнего перерыва, в отличной форме и с новым концертным составом — к колдующим над лэптопами Эду и Энди присоединится гитарист.

Plaid — Hawkmoth

KING MIDAS SOUND
В конце 80-х Кевин Мартин записывал истеричный джаз-кор под псевдонимом GOD (совместно с участником коллективов Napalm Death и Godflesh Джастином Броадриком), в 90-е выпустил шесть альбомов с абстрактным хип-хопом и эмбиентом как Techno Animal, а в «нулевые прогремел» с дабстеп-проектом The Bug. Альбомы The Bug выходили на лейбле Rephlex, принадлежавшем Афексу Твину, а также на гиганте независимой электроники Ninja Tune, на них читали раггамаффин такие звезды английского дансхолла, как Cutty Ranks, Flow Dan и Warrior Queen.

King Midas Sound — совместный проект Кевина Мартина и поэта Роджера Робинсона. Вокруг певучего речитатива лондонский музыкант выстраивает ширму из глухих ударов баса и пустоты, напоминая ранний бристольский трип-хоп — не случайно про King Midas Sound говорят, что в нем «Massive Attack встречается с дабстепом». Два альбома Kind Midas Sound вышли на лейбле Hyperdub — флагмане новой электроники последнего десятилетия под управлением Kode9, третий ожидается на лейбле Ninja Tune, также часто экспериментирующем с бас-музыкой. Неудивительно, что журнал «Афиша» написал про Кевина Мартина: «если бы у культуры баса было свое министерство, Мартин по умолчанию стал бы его руководителем».

The Bug — Catch a Fire
King Midas Sound Live at Supersonic 2010
King Midas Sound — Cool out/Catch a fire
King Midas Sound — Funny Love

ELEPHANT
Участники дуэта Elephant Амелия Ривас и Кристиан Пинчбек познакомились на вечеринке — и на следующий день Амелия пришла в гости Кристиану с дешевым синтезатором Casio, купленным за 10 фунтов, и не уходила три дня. За эти три дня на этом синтезаторе и был записан весь первый демо-альбом группы, пропитанный романтичным настроением.

Дебютный альбом «Sky Swimming» вышел в апреле 2014 года и уже был отмечен Guardian в числе заметных новинок года. В воздушности обаятельных песен Elephant чувствуется любовь к психоделической эстраде 1960-х, многослойному вокалу со спецэффектами и четкому биту.

Elephant — Skyscraper
Elephant — Shapeshifter
Elephant — Come to me

SELECTOR LIVE

Продюсируемая Британским Советом радиопрограмма Selector вещает из Лондона на аудиторию свыше трех миллионов слушателей в 40 странах мира. Газета The Guardian назвала Selector «Самым любопытно спрограммированным музыкальным радиошоу в Британии». С апреля 2013 года Selector проводит свои еженедельные эфиры на волнах радио Megapolis 89.5FM.

Помимо радиопрограммы, Selector представляет собой серию вечеринок «такого же просветительского толка — по версии Коммерсантъ — как и сама программа». Вечеринки Selector проходят на главных концертных площадках Москвы при участии самых актуальных британских артистов и знакомят московскую публику с представителями различных современных музыкальных направлений