Date
Monday 05 February 2018 to Friday 27 April 2018
Location
competition for the concept design of a monument to William Shakespeare in Moscow

The British Council and the Museum of Moscow are delighted to launch an all-Russia competition for the concept design of a monument to William Shakespeare in Moscow.

The competition, administered by the Union of Moscow Architects, is an opportunity for Russian artists to pay tribute to one of the UK’s greatest cultural icons. 

The organizers have prepared a program of public lectures that will help participants of the competition to understand the nuances of the creative task of the project, as well as for the wider audience, who wants to learn more about Shakespeare's art, British culture and contemporary art.

About the project 

The territory of the “Old English Court” Museum – part of the Museum of Moscow – on Varvarka Street, was selected for the location of the monument. This was the site of England’s first trade mission to Russia, which took place appeared in 1556 in which the Court functioned as a residence for British merchants. 

The decision to install the monument was made by the Mayor of Moscow in October 2017. The competition was launched in order to select the best tribute to Shakespeare from across Russia. 

The competition is aimed at young Russian sculptors, architects, artists and designers. The mission is not only to create a unique embodiment of the image of the great playwright and poet, but also harmoniously fit it into the historical environment of the Moscow Kremlin's security zone, the "Old English Court"  Museum and the unique landscape of Zaryadye park. 

The winning concept design will be an original and symbolic tribute to Shakespeare – celebrating his innovation, versatility and enduring relevance in our diverse world.  The competition is devised by the British Council and the British Embassy in partnership with the Museum of Moscow. The  competition is administered by the Union of Moscow Architects. The competition is supported by the Moscow Government, the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation and the Department of Culture of Moscow.

Competition criteria 

To enter the competition, you will need to register by 7 April 2018. Please email your registration form to cmacompetition@gmail.com or complete the registration form on  www.shakespeare.moscowarch.ru. 

Link to competition materials.

Competition timeline

Registration closes: 7 April 7, 2018
Projects submission deadline: 17 April, 2018
Selection process: 19-29 April, 2018
Finalists announced: 26 April, 2018

The judging panel will select three finalists, who will receive the following prizes:

First prize: 250, 000 Rubles and the right to implement the project;
Second prize: 200,000 Rubles;
Third prize: 150, 000 Rubles.

About the panel

The panel includes representatives from the British Council, the Department of Culture of Moscow, the Moscow Museum, the Union of Moscow Architects, and experts in public sculpture, architecture, design and contemporary art.

Chair and co-chair:

  • Mikhail Shvydkoy, Special Representative of Russian President on International Cultural Cooperation
  • Leonid Pachatnikov, Deputy Mayor for Social Development

The panel:

  • Nailya Allakhverdieva, Art-Director, PERMM Museum 
  • Michael Bird, Director of the British Council Russia
  • Boris Bernaskoni, architect, Head of BERNASKONI bureau
  • Tatiana Guk, Deputy Chairman of the Committee for Architecture and Urban Planning of Moscow
  • Olga Kabanova, journalist, art-critis, Editor-in-Chief of «TheArtNewspaperRussia»
  • Alexander Kibovsky, head of Moscow's Department of Culture
  • Andrey Kovalchuk, sculptor, People's Artist of the Russian Federation, Chairman of the Union of Artists of Russia, member of the Russian Academy of Arts
  • Sergey Kuznetsov, Main architect of Moscow, First Deputy Chairman of the Committee on Architecture and Urban Planning of Moscow
  • Tim Marlow, artistic director of the Royal Academy of Arts 
  • Alexander Ponomarev, artist, holder of the French Order "For Merits in Literature and Art", member of the Russian Academy of Arts, President of the ANTARCTIC Biennale
  • Alina Saprykina, Director of Museum of Moscow
  • Georgy Frangulyan, sculptor,  People's Artist of the Russian Federation, member of the Russian Academy of Arts
  • Nikolay Shumakov, member of the Russian Academy of Arts, President of the Union of Moscow Architects, Chief Architect of "Metrogiprotrans"

About the organizers

The British Council is the UK’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities. We are engaged in projects acrossin the field of art, education and the English language and together with Russian and British partners organisze a large-scale programme of cultural and educational events annually.
 
The Union of Moscow Architects (UMA) is a creative union and public organiszation, whose activities are aimed at the promotion and development of domestic architecture and urban planning, protection of the architectural and historical heritage and, the integration of Russian architects into the world’s cultural community.
 
The Museum of Moscow was founded in 1896. The main city museum of the capital  is a modern multifunctional museum, -exhibition, educational and cultural centre. The museum is dedicated to the city and the citizens, showcasing both itsand, on the one hand, it keeps the whole history and life today., and on the other hand it represents all the most important and interesting things that happen in Moscow today. The museum’s collection is one of the largest in Russiathe country and consists of more than one1 million artefacts. The museum is located withinin the former Provision warehouses –- a national architectural monument of federal significance. The Museum of Moscow has several branches: the Moscow Archeology Museum, the Old English Court, The History of Lefortovo Museum, Vlakhernskoye-Kuzminki Manor and, the Gilyarovsky Centreer.

Contact information

Anastasia Volkova, British Council Press Office
+7 903 135 49 24 
anastasia.volkova@britishcouncil.ru
 
Elena Petukhova, Head of the Organising Committee
epetuhova@gmail.com
 
Kseniya Isaeva, Museum of Moscow Press Office
+7 915 395 9152
media@mosmuseum.ru

Date
понедельник 05 февраль 2018 - пятница 27 апрель 2018
Location
Всероссийский открытый конкурс

Британский Совет совместно с Музеем Москвы объявляют о начале конкурса на концепцию памятника Уильяму Шекспиру в Москве.

Конкурс, организатором которого выступает Союз московских архитекторов, призван дать шанс молодым российским скульпторам, архитекторам, художникам и дизайнерам и определить лучшее архитектурно-художественное решение памятника.

Организаторы подготовили программу публичных лекций, которые помогут конкурсантам разобраться в нюансах творческой задачи проекта, а всем желающим узнать больше о шекспировском творчестве, британской культуре и современном искусстве.  

О проекте

Место установки будущего памятника - территория филиала Музея Москвы, музей«Старый Английский двор» на улице Варварка. Именно здесь в 1556 году появилось первое торговое представительство Англии - резиденция купцов Московской компании, образованной в Лондоне для торговли с Россией. 

Решение об установке памятника принято Мэром Москвы в октябре 2017 года.

По замыслу инициаторов проекта, памятник должен представлять собой символический образ Шекспира, переданный оригинальным и концептуальным способом, отражать такие черты его творчества, как новаторство, универсальность, многообразие и актуальность.

Инициатором и заказчиком конкурса выступает Британский Совет / Отдел Культуры Посольства Великобритании в Москве совместно с Музеем Москвы. Функции оператора конкурса выполняет МОО «Союз московских архитекторов». Конкурс проходит при поддержке Правительства Москвы, Министерства культуры Российской Федерации и Департамента культуры города Москвы.

Условия участия в конкурсе

Для участия в конкурсе необходимо не позднее 7 апреля 2018 года прислать на адрес оргкомитета конкурса (cmacompetition@gmail.com) электронное письмо с заявкой на участие, либо заполнить регистрационную форму на сайте конкурса: www.shakespeare.moscowarch.ru 

График проведения конкурса:

  • Регистрация участников конкурса  - до 7 апреля 2018 г.
  • Финальная дата сдача проектов: 17 апреля 2018 г.
  • Выставка конкурсных проектов: 18 - 29 апреля 2018 г.
  • Церемония подведения итогов: 27 апреля 2018 г.

Призы конкурса:

Жюри конкурса определит трех лауреатов, которые получат следующие премии:

  • Первое место: 250 000 руб. и право реализации проекта
  • Второе место: 200 000 руб.
  • Третье место: 150 000 руб

Жюри конкурса

Председатель и сопредседатель жюри:

  • Швыдкой Михаил, Специальный представитель Президента РФ по международному культурному сотрудничеству, театровед, общественный и государственный деятель;
  • Печатников Леонид, Заместитель Мэра Москвы в Правительстве Москвы по вопросам социального развития.

Члены жюри:

  • Аллахвердиева Наиля, арт-директор Музея PERMM 
  • Берд Майкл, директор Британского Совета в России
  • Бернаскони Борис, архитектор, руководитель архитектурного бюро BERNASKONI
  • Гук Татьяна, Главный художник г. Москвы, Заместитель председателя Комитета по архитектуре и градостроительству города Москвы
  • Кабанова Ольга, журналист, арт-критик, редактор газеты «TheArtNewspaperRussia»
  • Кибовский Александр, министр Правительства Москвы, руководитель Департамента культуры города Москвы
  • Ковальчук Андрей, скульптор, Народный художник РФ, Председатель правления Союза художников России, академик РАХ
  • Кузнецов Сергей, Главный архитектор Москвы, Первый заместитель председателя Комитета по архитектуре и градостроительству г. Москвы
  • Марлоу Тим  (Tim Marlow),  художественный руководитель Королевской Академии художеств 
  • Пономарев Александр, художник, кавалер французского ордена «За заслуги в литературе и искусстве», член-корреспондент РАХ, Президент АНТАРКТИК БИЕННАЛЕ
  • Сапрыкина Алина, директор Музея Москвы
  • Франгулян Георгий, скульптор, Народный художник РФ, академик РАХ
  • Шумаков Николай, Президент Союза московских архитекторов и Союза архитекторов России, главный архитектор ОАО «Метрогипротранс», академик РАХ

Организаторы конкурса

Союз московских архитекторов (СМА) - творческий союз и общественная организация, деятельность которой направлена на популяризацию и развитие отечественной архитектуры и градостроительства, охрану архитектурного и исторического наследия, интеграцию российских архитекторов в мировое культурное сообщество. 

Музей Москвы - основан в 1896 году. Главный городской музей столицы - это современный многофункциональный музейно-выставочный, образовательный и культурный центр. Музей посвящен городу и горожанам, и, с одной стороны - хранит всю историю, а с другой - представляет все самое важное и интересное, что происходит в Москве сегодня. Коллекция музея является одной из крупнейших в стране и насчитывает более 1 миллиона артефактов. Музей находится в Провиантских складах - памятнике архитектуры федерального значения. Музей Москвы имеет несколько филиалов: Музей археологии Москвы, Старый Английский двор, Музей истории Лефортово, Усадьба Влахернское-Кузьминки, Центр Гиляровского.