Date
Tuesday 14 March 2017 to Thursday 16 March 2017
Location
Edinburgh, Dundee, Glasgow

As part of the UK-Russia Year of Language and Literature 2016 and global Shakespeare Lives festival, the Sonnets Exchange project gathered six contemporary UK and Russian poets for a series of events dedicated to translating contemporary interpretations of Shakespeare sonnets.

The project began in September 2016, with Scottish poets Christine De Luca, Stewart Sanderson and Jen Hadfield visiting Russia for a translation workshop with Russian poets Marina Boroditskaya, Grigory Kruzhkov and Lev Oborin. The poets translated each other’s work – exploring the linguistic and cultural contexts of their poetry - culminating in public reading events in Moscow and Saint Petersburg. The whole process was recorded – you can see some of the readings on our YouTube Channel.

Six months on, in March 2017, the poets will reunite in Scotland to present their final works, along with a trilingual anthology of poems – four from each poet. You can either download it from our website, or get yourself a free copy of the handsome limited-edition anthology, at one of our live events.

EVENTS IN SCOTLAND 

Three events in three different cities in Scotland will feature readings in Scottish, Russian and Shetlandic, and explore the challenges, rewards and revelations of the translation process.

  • 14th March, 18:30
    The Princess Dashkova Russian Centre
    The Screening Room, Ground Floor, 50 George Square, Edinburgh University, Edinburgh, EH8 9LH
    Registration
  • 15th March, 18:00
    The McManus Museum and Art Gallery Café
    Albert Square, Meadowside, Dundee, DD1 1DA
    Tickets
  • 16th March, 19:45
    Aye Write! Festival
    Mitchell Library, North Street, Glasgow, G3 7DN 
    Book now

The Scotland-Russia Sonnets Exchange project is a partnership with the Scottish Poetry Library, with the generous support of the Edwin Morgan Trust.

Date
вторник 14 март 2017 - четверг 16 март 2017
Location
Эдинбург, Данди, Глазго

В рамках Года языка и литературы Великобритании и России 2016 и глобального фестиваля Shakespeare Lives Британский Совет пригласил шесть британских и российских поэтов принять участие в серии событий, посвященных художественному переводу современных интерпретаций сонетов Шекспира.

Проект стартовал в сентябре 2016 года с участием шотландских поэтов Кристин Де Луки, Стьюарта Сандерсона и Джен Хэдфилд, которые посетили Россию для участия в переводческом семинаре совместно с российскими поэтами Мариной Бородицкой, Григорием Кружковым и Львом Обориным. Участники семинара перевели несколько работ друг друга, изучая культурный контекст поэзии на двух языках, и представили результаты совместной работы на публичных чтениях в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге.

В марте 2017 года поэты вновь встретятся - уже в Шотландии, чтобы представить британской публике свои работы, а также составленный по итогам семинара сборник стихотворений на русском, английском и шетландском языках. Сборник включает в себя по четыре стихотворения каждого из поэтов, и его можно скачать на нашем сайте или получить бесплатно на одном из наших мероприятий в рамках проекта.

РАСПИСАНИЕ МЕРОПРИЯТИЙ ПРОЕКТА

  • 14 марта 2017, 18:30
    Российский центр принцессы Дашковой, Университет Эдинбурга

    The Screening Room, Ground Floor, 50 George Square, Edinburgh University, Edinburgh, EH8 9LH
    Регистрация

  • 15 марта 2017, 18:00
    Художественная галерея и музей «МакМанус» в Данди, кафе
    Albert Square, Meadowside, Dundee, DD1 1DA
    Билеты

  • 16 марта 2017, 19:45
    Книжный фестиваль Aye Write! в Глазго
    Mitchell Library, North Street, Glasgow, G3 7DN 
    Билеты

Шотландско-российский проект «Сонеты Шекспира – современный ответ» реализован в сотрудничестве с Шотландской библиотекой поэзии при поддержке фонда Эдвина Моргана