Garage Museum of Contemporary Art and the British Council are delighted to announce a series of lectures dedicated to the role of cultural leadership in the modern world. The lectures will be held from 15 November 2017 to 1 March 2018.

Ten professionals from different cultural sectors, from architecture to modern dance, will share their experiences and talk about goals they need to achieve and the importance of their work in the global context. The aim of the program is to show that nowadays the term “cultural leadership” includes not only managing a role in the cultural sector, but also the possibility of generating new ideas, senses, and products, and changing our way of thinking and the world around us. There is no monopoly in the modern cultural environment when it comes to leadership, and leadership positions can be taken by people from different backgrounds: from public authorities and heads of big institutions to curators and producers, entrepreneurs, and independent consultants.

The audience will meet directors of national funds and those who form the culture policy in Great Britain and discuss how the cultural sector responds to the most urgent issues of modernity and will have a chance to ask leading practicing professionals about their favourite projects and meet artists and writers who inspire both their supporters and opponents.

Schedule

23 March
19.30-21.00

Garage Auditorium  

Lecture by John McGrath, CEO of Manchester International festival

12 March

Garage Auditorium

 
Sadler’s Wells artistic director and chief executive Alistair Spalding shares his experience of leading the internationally renowned dance house and examines how culture plays a vital role in social and economic growth.

2 March

Garage Education Center

 
Simon Cronshaw - a cultural entrepreneur and co-founder of the global REMIX Summits on Culture, Technology and Entrepreneurship will share strategies of using technology in audience development, creation of new interactive and meaningful artistic experiences, management and models for creating new culture and technology collaborations.

8 February 

Garage Education Center

 

Theatre director, artistic director at Southbank Centre, and the founder of WOW (Women of the World) Festival Jude Kelly will speak of the changes in our understanding of gender equality and the ways in which identity issues shape cultural contexts.

 

1 February   

Garage Auditorium

 

Director of Clore Leadership Program Hilary Carty will share her experience in development of the cultural sector in the UK and talk about programs to nurture skills and competence for leaders in the cultural sector. 

VIDEO RECORDING

29 January

Garage Education Center

 

 Lecture by Mat Collishaw "The work of art in the age of digital progress"

One of the representatives of the Young British Artists movement will give a talk on his work and reflect on looking at fragments of art history through the lens of digital media.

VIDEO RECORDING

18 January

Garage Education Center

Lecture by Doug Wallace 'Literature without borders: present and future of international literature projects'

The CEO of the British literary agency Andrew Nurnberg Associates’ Russian Office and curator of the British Council’s literature projects, will speak about the most interesting cases from his experience working on international literary projects.

VIDEO RECORDING

21 November

Garage Education Center

Talk by Simon Murray "Popularising cultural heritage"

Senior Director of the National Trust Simon Murray will talk on how the National Trust has grown from a small conservation charity to a popular and successful movement and how cultural heritage became popular.

VIDEO RECORDING

15 November

Garage Auditorium

Talk by Sian Prime "Cultural Leadership: new skills and approaches to sustainability"

The director of the MA in Cultural and Creative Entrepreneurship course at Goldsmiths, University of London, will talk about the challenges faced by the UK cultural institutions and creative enterprises and will share her experience of working in the UK.

VIDEO RECORDING

  • The lectures will be held in English with interpreting into Russian.

  • The lectures will be accessible for deaf and hard of hearing visitors and will be interpreted into Russian Sign Language.

The series of lectures is part of the British Council’s Future Culture programme.

Музей современного искусства «Гараж» и Британский Совет проводят c 15 ноября 2017 по 1 апреля 2018 года цикл открытых лекций, посвященный значению культурного лидерства в современном мире.

Десять профессионалов из разных областей культуры расскажут о своем опыте, задачах, которые приходится решать, и о роли своей работы в глобальном контексте. Цель программы — показать, что понятие «культурное лидерство» в современных условиях включает в себя не только управление культурными институтами, но и генерирование новых идей и смыслов, создание продуктов, меняющих мышление и мир вокруг. Такими лидерами могут быть самые разные персоны -  от государственных деятелей и руководителей крупных институций до кураторов и продюсеров, предпринимателей и независимых консультантов.

Слушатели курса встретятся с теми, кто определяет современную культурную повестку Великобритании, и узнают, как культурный сектор отвечает на самые насущные вопросы современности, смогут расспросить ведущих о любимых проектах, познакомятся с актуальными художниками и писателями, вдохновляющими своим творчеством современников.

Расписание лекций

23 марта 2018
19.30 – 21.00

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Джона Мак-Грата, директора Манчестерского фестиваля искусств
 

13 марта 2018
19.30 – 21.00

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Алистера Спалдинга, художественного руководителя театра Sadler’s Wells

2 марта 2018
19.30 – 21.00

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Саймона Кроншоу, со-основателя конференции Remix

13 февраля 2018
19.30-21.00

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Лекция Льюиса Биггса «Где припарковаться во время биеннале. Как искусство меняет город»

Независимый куратор, директор Института паблик-арта и Международного конкурса паблик-арта, куратор Фолкстоунской триеннале (Великобритания) и Монгольской биеннале ленд-арта, бывший директор галереи Тейт Ливерпуль и основатель Ливерпульскую биеннале современного искусства, расскажет о запуске таких масштабных проектов, как Ливерпульская биеннале и галерея Тейт Ливерпуль, взаимодействии искусства с городской средой и о пользе художественных практик для общественных пространств.

8 февраля 2018
19.30 - 21.00

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Лекция Джуд Келли «Практические аспекты гендерного равенства в культуре»

Режиссер, художественный руководитель Southbank Centre, создатель международного фестиваля WOW (Women of the World) Джуд Келли проанализирует изменения культурной нормы гендерного неравенства и расскажет, как вопросы идентичности меняют культурный контекст в целом.

1 февраля 2018

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Хилари Карти «Программы подготовки культурных лидеров»

Директор грантовой программы Clore Leadership Program поделится опытом развития культурного сектора в Великобритании и расскажет о программах подготовки профессионалов.

29 января 2018

Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Мэта Коллишоу  «Произведение искусства в эпоху цифрового прогресса»

Мэт Коллишоу, один из представителей движения Молодых британских художников, расскажет о своих работах и о том, как смотреть на историю современного искусства через призму новых медиа.

18 января 2018
Лекторий Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Дага Уоллеса «Литература без границ. Настоящее и будущее международных литературных проектов»

Директор российского офиса британского литературного агентства Andrew Nurnberg Associates и куратор литературных проектов Британского Совета расскажет о работе над международными литературными проектами и поделится своим видением того, что такое культурное лидерство.

21 ноября 2017
Лекторий Музея «Гараж»

Лекция Саймона Мюррея «Как популяризировать культурное наследие?»

Старший директор британского Национального фонда рассказывает, как из небольшой благотворительной охранной организации фонд превратился в популярное и успешное движение, а также как возрождался интерес к теме культурного наследия.

15 ноября 2017
Лекторий Музея «Гараж»

 

 Лекция Шон Прайм «Культурное лидерство. Новые навыки и модели развития»

Директор магистерской программы «Предпринимательство в культуре и творческих индустриях» Голдсмитс-колледжа (Лондон) рассказывает о новых моделях культурного лидерства и поделится своим опытом работы в культурных институциях Великобритании.

  • Лекции проходят на английском языке с синхронным переводом на русский язык

  • Лекции доступны глухим и слабослышащим посетителям: во время мероприятия осуществляется перевод на русский жестовый язык.

Мероприятия проходят в рамках программы  профессионального развития Британского Совета Future Culture.