Dmitry Ivanov: "The Poet and the King: John Milton, Charles I, and the English Revolution"

7 July 19:30
Tretyakov Gallery, Lavrushinsky Lane, 12 (Сonference room)

In his lecture, dedicated to portraits of John Milton and Charles I, Dmitry Ivanov will talk about a number of significant events in the history of England in the mid-XVII century; the Puritan Revolution, civil wars, the establishment of the Commonwealth, the Protectorate of Oliver Cromwell, and the restoration of the monarchy. 

Charles I, the second king of England from the House of Stuart, seemed to do everything to set everyone against him. Faced with the resistance of the revolutionary parliament and rebellious Londoners, the king decided to declare war on them, but, as a result, lost his crown and his head.

Poet and writer John Milton actively supported revolutionaries and was among those who welcomed the king's execution. Milton entered the Republican government of England, went completely blind and retired from politics. However it did not stop him from writing – towards the end of his life he wrote his most important work, the epic poem “Paradise Lost” (1667), devoted to the key issues of religious ethics and human existence.

About lecturer

Dmitry Ivanov is a literary historian, candidate of Philological Sciences, Senior Researcher at the Department of History of Foreign Literatures, Philological Faculty, MSU, where he has also read the history of foreign literature in XVII-XVIII centuries since 1996. Among his academic interests are English literature of the XVI-XVII and XIX-XX centuries. Dmitry Ivanov is the author of books, articles, and translations, including works on Milton.

Дмитрий Иванов

Дмитрий Иванов
"Поэт и король: Джон Мильтон, Карл I и английская революция"

7 июля, 19:30
Третьяковская галерея, Лаврушинский пер., 12 (Конференц-зал)

В своей лекции, посвященной портретам Джона Мильтона и Карла I, Дмитрий Иванов коснется ряда бурных событий из истории Англии середины XVII века: пуританской революции, серии гражданских войн, установления республиканского строя и протектората Оливера Кромвеля, реставрации монархии. 

Карл I, второй английский король из шотландской династии Стюартов, казалось, сделал все, чтобы восстановить против себя своих подданных. Натолкнувшись на сопротивление революционного парламента и мятежных лондонцев, король решил объявить им войну, но, в результате, лишился и короны, и головы. 

Поэт и публицист Джон Мильтон, активно поддерживавший революционеров, был среди тех, кто приветствовал казнь короля. Мильтон вошел в республиканское правительство Англии, на службе постепенно ослеп, с детства страдая слабым зрением, и ушел из политики. Это не угасило в нем творческий импульс — в конце жизни слепой поэт создал главное свое творение: эпическую поэму «Потерянный Рай» (1667), посвященную ключевым вопросам религиозной этики и человеческого. бытия.

О лекторе

Дмитрий Анатольевич Иванов (р. 1966) — литературовед, кандидат филологических наук, старший научный сотрудник кафедры истории зарубежной литературы филологического факультета МГУ. Ведёт преподавательскую деятельность с 1996 года. В МГУ читает общий курс истории зарубежной литературы XVII–XVIII веков. Сфера научных интересов: английская литература XVI–XVII и XIX–XX веков. Автор научных и научно-популярных статей, в том числе о Джоне Мильтоне, и переводов с английского языка.