Researcher Connect is a professional development course that focuses on the development of excellent communication skills for international, multicultural contexts. This course was designed by the British Council in recognition of the fact that communication skills are indispensable to the free flow of knowledge and ideas across cultures, and are integral to researchers and research institutions functioning at the international level.

The aim is to enhance the productivity of individual researchers and, in turn, help to strengthen the international reputation of the researcher’s employer.

The programme was developed in collaboration with leading scientists and experts in the field of the internationalisation of higher education as a result of many years of analytical work and interaction with scientific communities around the world.

Researcher Connect trainers are experts in science communication familiar with the new trends in academic publishing and the inner workings of the international scientific community. The course has been delivered in 12 countries across the globe and participant feedback has consistently shown that the workshop enhances researchers’ communication skills, knowledge and ability. In 2016-17, Researcher Connect workshops have been successfully run in some of the Russia’s leading universities:

  • The Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University (NEFU)
  • Ural Federal University named after the first President of Russia B. N. Yeltsin
  • The National University of Science and Technology "MISiS"
  • ITMO University
  • Tomsk State University (TSU)
  • Northern (Arctic) Federal University named after M.V. Lomonosov
  • Tyumen State University
  • Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas (National Research University)
  • National Research University – Higher School of Economics
  • Vladimir State University 

Workshops are for up to 20 researchers from any fields. The Researcher Connect course is not an English language course, and participants should already have a minimum of B2-level English.

A certificate of completion will be given to each participant in order to certify their attendance on the course.

If you would like to learn more about programme costs and opportunities, please email or call us:

Inna Popova, Science projects coordinator 
Tel.: +7 (495) 287 1800 ext. 1839, +7 (915) 220 0628

Module selection

Each of the seven optional modules speaks to an important aspect of the modern international research environment, and has flexible content that allows our experienced trainers to adapt the materials to the needs and experience of participants. 

Researcher Connect Modules 

Foundation Module: Know Your Audience

Participants define their own internal objectives for communicating with a particular audience, develop a tool kit of skills and techniques to effectively analyse and understand it, and learn to communicate in a language, at a level and with a message that is relevant to the audience.


Better Presentations: 1 day

Learners build critical awareness and reflective skills, as well as techniques for the use of voice, body language and presentation structure, and practice these skills through the creation and delivery of their own oral presentations. 

Academic Writing: 1 day

Participants critically analyse the essentials of academic writing, and identify, critique and develop the learners’ own writing style through the acquisition of tactics, tools and relevant language techniques.

Persuasive Proposals: 1 day

Participants are introduced to essential tools, including project planning, and put these into practice through team-led development of a funding proposal. Learners consider the use of audience focused language and style, and the creation of logically connected goals, outcomes, outputs and inputs.

Effective Emails: ½ day

The most common way in which researchers form networks and collaborations is through the exchange of emails. This module enables participants to understand how their emails are being read, and to be aware of common errors. It builds a toolkit for clear, accurate and successful communication. 

Abstracts: ½ day

Enables learners to become critical readers and writers of abstracts through review and practice, using techniques and styles introduced throughout the course. The module focuses on techniques and approaches to enable participants to make well-informed decisions when creating their own abstracts.

Academic Collaboration: ½ or full day

The Academic Collaboration module helps researchers to approach potential collaborators with more confidence, and builds understanding of when and where collaboration may be most beneficial. 

Digital Researcher: ½ or full day

This practical workshop will help to develop participant’s ability to use digital tools with confidence to enhance their academic careers. The module will detail strategies for using social media to enable research to be more discoverable, more highly cited and achieve more impact.

Researcher Connect — образовательная программа Британского Совета для ученых и менеджеров университетов, направленная на развитие навыков научной коммуникации. Программа призвана помочь исследователям и ученым занять прочную позицию в мировом научном сообществе, где способность правильно и эффективно общаться имеет первостепенное значение.

Цель проекта — повысить производительность научных сотрудников, что, в свою очередь, приведет к укреплению международной репутации работодателя.

Программа разработана совместно с ведущими учеными и экспертами в области интернационализации высшего образования как результат многолетней аналитической работы и взаимодействия с научными сообществами по всему миру.

Тренеры программы — признанные эксперты в области академической коммуникации, знакомые с последними трендами в сфере публикационной активности и международного научного сотрудничества. Благодаря высочайшему качеству преподавания Researcher Connect получила признание в крупнейших университетах 12 стран мира, включая ведущие российские вузы:

  • Северо-восточный федеральный университет им. К.М. Аммосова
  • Уральский федеральный университет им. первого Президента России Б.Н. Ельцина
  • Национальный исследовательский технологический университет «МИСиС»
  • Санкт-Петербургский национальный исследовательский университет информационных технологий, механики и оптики (ИТМО)
  • Национальный исследовательский Томский государственный университет
  • Северный (Арктический) федеральный университет имени М.В. Ломоносова
  • Тюменский государственный университет

Максимальное количество участников одного тренинга — 20 человек. Слушатели должны владеть английским на уровне В-2 или выше в соответствии с общеевропейской классификацией.

По завершении курса участникам программы предоставляется сертификат.

Подробнее узнать о стоимости программы и возможности ее проведения можно, написав или позвонив нам:

Игорь Исаков, менеджер образовательных и научных проектов
igor.isakov@britishcouncil.org
Тел.: +7 (495) 287-18-08, 8 (963) 622-49-35

Модули Researcher Connect

Семь модулей программы посвящены важным аспектам современной международной академической среды, а гибкость учебных материалов позволяет нашим опытным тренерам адаптировать курсы в соответствии с потребностями и опытом участников. Вуз самостоятельно определяет набор тренингов, выбирая наиболее интересные темы, и регулирует их продолжительность (от трех до семи дней занятий разной степени интенсивности).

Вводный модуль: Ваша целевая аудитория

Этот модуль служит основой для всех последующих модулей курса Researcher Connect и дает участникам необходимые знания и тактики для того, чтобы обеспечить успешное общение с коллегами, грантодателями и широкой аудиторией в разных ситуациях и контекстах. 

Искусство презентации (1 день)

Слушатели научатся критически оценивать выступления спикеров и собственные навыки презентации, использовать тон, риторические приемы и жесты, формировать структуру выступления и отвечать на самые непростые вопросы аудитории.

Академическое письмо (1 день)

Участники критически анализируют основы академического письма, а также развивают собственный стиль, используя эффективные техники, инструменты и стратегии.

Убедительные заявки на гранты (1 день)

Работая в командах, участники создают план научного проекта и разрабатывают на его основе заявки на грант, используя различные приемы и инструменты для повышения эффективности предложения. Модуль включает практические рекомендации и упражнения по использованию ориентированного на аудиторию языка и стиля, а также созданию логической связи между целями, ресурсами и результатами.

Эффективная переписка (1 день)

Главный способ формирования новых партнерств и поддержания контактов в международной академической среде — это общение по электронной почте. Модуль поможет участникам понять, как воспринимают их письма разные адресаты, и каким образом можно избежать распространенных ошибок.  В итоге, формируется набор инструментов для четкой и успешной коммуникации.

Абстракты (полдня)

Серия практических упражнений научит критически оценивать качество собственного письма и работ других авторов в научной среде, улучшить технику и стиль, принимать взвешенные решения при составлении собственных абстрактов.

Успешные международные коллаборации (полдня или один день)

Модуль поможет создавать и поддерживать новые контакты в академической среде, а также выбирать именно тех партнеров, взаимодействие с которыми принесет максимальную пользу проекту, исследовательской группе и организации в целом.

Онлайн-продвижение исследований (полдня или один день)

Практический воркшоп научит участников уверенно использовать онлайн-возможности для продвижения результатов исследований и развития карьеры в академической среде. Модуль предлагает стратегии использования социальных медиа для увеличения цитируемости и импакт-фактора.