Bo Choy. Nathan Road, where the Spirits told me. From Three stills from War on Perception, 2020. 
Date
Monday 25 January 2021 - 21:36 to Tuesday 09 February 2021 - 18:00

The Museum of Nonconformist Art together with St. Petersburg Art Residency will hold #VirtualSPAR, a UK-focused online residency programme initiated in response to COVID-19 related travel restrictions.

First launched in April 2020, #VirtualSPAR is an online platform that offers residency experience to art professionals from all over the world. It is designed as a community space where artists can share their work and creative process, meet like-minded colleagues, exchange ideas and network. I addition artists-in-residence will open their studios for virtual visits on Instagram Live, join Zoom Cafés for discussions, and participate in online exhibitions.

This year, #VirtualSPAR has begun its third season with the support of the Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy Moscow and in partnership with ACME Studios. ACME nominated one of the artists for a virtual residency and co-produced the public programme.

Moving into the studio from 11 January to 8 February 2021 are five UK-based artists of various backgrounds: M. Jacinta Silva Armstrong, Bo Choy (nominated by ACME), Vicky Clarke, Shir Cohen, and Peter Shenai.

This residency focuses on space: its presence and absence, space as a social construct and a framework for creativity. The artists are encouraged to approach the concept of “Making Space” from different perspectives. What role does space play in their professional practice and personal life? How can we build space around and within ourselves? How does the “new norm” change our perception of space? Is space something that appears on its own or is it produced by our actions? How can art help measure and mediate space? What is space made of and how can we rethink it? These are just a few of the questions the participants can address.

More information about the residency and public events can be found here

20.01.21 / 20:00 Moscow time (GMT+3)

Live interview with artist Shir Cohen 
Streamed on Facebook
Participation on Zoom is also an option, please register 

26.01.21 /14:00 Moscow time (GMT+3)
Live interview with artist Bo Choy 
Streamed on Facebook
Participation on Zoom is also an option, please register 

29.01.21
Interview with artist M. Jacinta Silva Armstrong
The pre-recorded interview will be published on Facebook and Instagram 

01.02.21 / 16:00 (GMT+3)
Interview with artist Peter Shenai
Streamed on Facebook
Participation on Zoom is also an option, please register 

04.02.21 / 16:00 Moscow time (GMT+3)
Public talk with Paul Bayley, Head of Residencies & Awards at Acme
Streamed on Facebook
Participation on Zoom is also an option, please register 

09.02.21 /16:00 Moscow time (GMT+3)
Live interview with artist Vicky Clarke
Streamed on Facebook
Participation on Zoom is also an option, please register

Bo Choy. Nathan Road, where the Spirits told me. From Three stills from War on Perception, 2020. 
Date
Среда 20 январь 2021 - 20:00 - вторник 09 февраль 2021 - 18:00

Санкт-Петербургская Арт-резиденция совместно с Музеем нонконформистского искусства объявляет о запуске британского сезона виртуальной арт-резиденции #VirtualSPAR. 

Проект #VirtualSPAR был запущен в пилотном режиме в апреле 2020, когда художники по всему миру оказались в сложной ситуации в связи с введением ограничений на передвижения и путешествия в пандемию. #VirtualSPAR — это пространство, открытое для профессионалов в области искусства со всего мира, в котором приглашенные художники могут делиться друг с другом результатами своего творчества, общаться с единомышленниками, обмениваться идеями, открывать свои студии для виртуальных посещений в Instagram Live, обсуждать творческие вопросы в Zoom-кафе и участвовать в онлайн-выставках.

В этом сезоне программа проходит при поддержке Отдела культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве и лондонской арт-резиденции ACME Studios. ACME номинировали одного из художников для участия в резиденции и участвовали в создании публичной программы.

С 11 января по 8 февраля 2021 года в студию переедут пять британских художников, работающих в разных направлениях: М. Хасинта Сильва Армстронг, Бо Чой (номинирована ACME), Вики Кларк, Шир Коэн и Питер Шенай.

Тема арт-резиденции этого сезона — пространство, а именно его наличие и отсутствие, пространство как социальный конструкт и основа для творчества. Художникам предлагается рассмотреть концепцию «создания пространства» с разных точек зрения. Какую роль играет пространство в профессиональной деятельности и личной жизни художника? Как мы можем создавать пространство вокруг себя и внутри себя? Как новая реальность пандемии видоизменяет наше восприятие пространства? Является ли пространство чем-то, что возникает само по себе, или оно создается нашими действиями? Как искусство может помочь измерить и опосредовать пространство? Как создается и переосмысляется пространство? Вот лишь несколько вопросов, которые предлагаются участникам для обсуждения.

Более подробную информацию о резиденции и публичных мероприятиях можно найти здесь

20.01.21 / 20:00 по московскому времени (GMT+3)
Прямой эфир: интервью с художницей Шир Коэн
Трансляция в Facebook
Участие через Zoom возможно после регистрации 

26.01.21 / 14:00 по московскому времени (GMT+3)
Прямой эфир: интервью с художницей Бо Чой 
Трансляция в Facebook
Участие через Zoom возможно после регистрации 

29.01.21 
Интервью с художницей М. Хасинтой Сильвой Армстронг
Запись интервью будет опубликована в Facebook и Instagram 

01.02.21 / 16:00 по московскому времени (GMT+3)
Прямой эфир: интервью с художником Питером Шенаи
Трансляция в Facebook
Участие через Zoom возможно после регистрации

04.02.21 / 16:00 по московскому времени (GMT+3)
Public talk с Полом Бейли, директором арт-резиденций Acme в Лондоне
Трансляция в Facebook
Участие через Zoom возможно после регистрации 

09.02.21 /16:00 по московскому времени (GMT+3)
Прямой эфир: интервью с художницей Вики Кларк
Трансляция в Facebook
Участие через Zoom возможно после регистрации