Date
Monday 30 October 2017 to Sunday 19 November 2017
Location
Russia

The 18th New British Film Festival organised by the British Council in partnership with CoolConnections and Formula Kino and Cinema Park, will be opened on 30 October 2017.

 The festival, held in more than 20 cities across Russia, will be launched in the Formula Kino Gorizont cinema with Stephen Frears’ Victoria & Abdul, a biographical comedy-drama about the relationship between Queen Victoria (Judi Dench) and her young, Indian subject Abdul Karim (Ali Fazal).

 All films will be shown in English with Russian subtitles.

 For the full line-up of films and events as well as information about tickets, please visit the festival website www.ukfilms.ru/ru/2017.

Festival programme

This year’s programme features a record number of biographical films exploring the lives of legendary 20th century cultural icons from the UK. The line-up includes Goodbye Christopher Robin, plunging audiences into 1920s post-war Britain in a behind the scenes look at the life of A. A. Milne and the creation of Winnie the Pooh; England is Mine, a portrait of the singer Morrissey, before he formed The Smiths in 1970s Manchester; and Mad to Be Normal starring David Tennant as R. D. Laing, the maverick Scottish psychiatrist who revolutionised thinking about mental health treatment. Following Alberto Giacometti’s first major retrospective in the UK this year, the festival will also screen Final Portrait, transporting audiences to the sculptor’s chaotic studio.

 Traditionally, the festival has championed auteur cinema, or films by directors with a signature style. In keeping with this tradition, this year’s line-up features a screen adaptation of Daphne du Maurier’s novel My Cousin Rachel, starring Rachel Weisz and directed by Roger Michell (Notting Hill) as well as Frances Lee’s critically acclaimed God’s Own Country, dubbed by the BBC as “Britain’s answer to Brokeback Mountain”.

 Other highlights include Eric Styles’ adaptation of That Good Night, featuring John Hurt’s final lead performance. Political thriller City of Tiny Lights stars Riz Ahmed, the first Asian, Muslim man to win an Emmy Award for acting, in the role of a private detective while drama Waiting for You sees Colin Morgan, famous for his lead role in BBC fantasy series Merlin, caught up in a disturbing family mystery.

 The festival will close with Andy Serkis’s debut biographical drama Breathe, about Englishman Robin Cavendish who was paralysed by polio at the age of 28 and given weeks to live. Serkis is best-known for his roles in motion-capture films and previous credits include Gollum in The Lord of the Rings; King Kong in Peter Jackson’s 2005 remake; Caesar in the Planet of the Apes trilogy; and Supreme Leader Snoke in Star Wars: The Force Awakens and The Last Jedi.

 The 28th New British Film Festival is part of the UK-Russia year of science and education 2017. To tie in with the programme, trade magazine Iskusstvo kino (“The Art of Cinema”) has curated a retrospective of iconic science fiction films from the UK.

New British Film festival Talks 

The festival’s educational programme at the Moscow School of Film will also focus on science, exploring film technology, from the history of the camera and special effects to virtual and augmented reality. This year’s speakers include film scholar Ian Christie; CEO and founder of Power to the Pixel Liz Rosenthal; production designer and director (Waiting for You) Charles Garrad and VR director and producer Darren Emerson.

Date
понедельник 30 октябрь 2017 - воскресенье 12 ноябрь 2017
Location
20 городов России

30 октября 2017 в Москве открывается XVIII фестиваль «Новое британское кино», который организуют Британский Совет совместно с арт-объединением «CoolConnections» и объединенной сетью кинотеатров «Формула кино» и «Синема Парк» в более 20 городах России. 

Все фильмы демонстрируются на английском языке с русскими субтитрами

Подробное описание фильмов и мероприятий в рамках образовательной программы, расписание и информация о приобретении билетов опубликованы на официальном сайте фестиваля  www.ukfilms.ru

Программа фестиваля 

Фестиваль в Москве откроется в кинотеатре «Формула Кино Горизонт» историко-биографической драмой Стивена Фрирза «Виктория и Абдул», рассказывающей историю взаимоотношений королевы Виктории (Джуди Денч) и её подданного, молодого индийского красавца Абдула Карима (Алит Фазал), снискавшего расположение и дружбу одной из самых влиятельных правительниц за всю историю Великобритании.  

В программу фестиваля в 2017 году вошло рекордное количество «биографических» лент, рассказывающих о жизни знаковых фигур британской культуры.  

Зрители смогут погрузиться в идиллическую атмосферу Сассекса 1920-х и понаблюдать за тем, как Алан Александр Милн придумывал Винни-Пуха («Прощай, Кристофер Робин»). Погулять по улицам Манчестера конца 1970-х – начала 1980-х вместе с будущим лидером «The Smiths» Стивеном Патриком Моррисси («Англия принадлежит мне») и навестить мастерскую выдающегося скульптора Альберто Джакометти, чья ретроспектива только что прошла в «Tate Modern» («Последний портрет»), понаблюдать за жизнью шотландского психиатра и мыслителя второй половины XX века Рональда Дэвида Лэйнга («Бесит быть нормальным»).  

Визитной карточкой фестиваля много лет подряд является авторское кино. Особо отметим в этой связи  картину создателя «Ноттинг Хилла» Роджера Мичелла («Моя кузина Рэйчел» – экранизация романа Дафны дю Морье с Рэйчел Вайс в главной роли) и фильм Фрэнсиса Ли «Божья земля», названный критиками «британской “Горбатой горой”». 

В фильме Эрика Стайлза «Безропотно во тьму» одну из своих последних ролей исполнил Джон Хёрт.  Активно делающий карьеру за океаном Риз Ахмед сыграл частного детектива в политическом триллере «Город тусклых огней», а звезда сериалов Колин Морган  занялся расследованием семейных тайн в драме «Жду тебя». 

Фильмом закрытия фестиваля станет биографическая мелодрама  «Дыши ради нас»  –  режиссёрский дебют  Энди Серкиса, который всему миру известен как мастер motion capture (Голлум, Кинг Конг, шимпанзе Цезарь и верховный лидер Сноук в одном флаконе).

В этом году фестиваль «Новое британское кино» проходит в рамках Года науки и образования Великобритании и России 2017. Любителей научной фантастики ждёт ретроспектива культовых британских фильмов в жанре sci-fi, подготовленная при поддержке журнала «Искусство кино».

New British Film Festival Talks

Образовательная программа кинофестиваля, которая традиционно пройдёт в Московской Школе Кино, будет посвящена различным технологиям кинопроизводства: от истории создания первых камер и появления простейших спецэффектов – до новейших фильмов с использованием технологий виртуальной и дополненной реальности. Своим опытом со слушателями поделятся профессор Лондонского университета Иен Кристи,  основатель и директор компании «Power to the Pixel» и куратор VR-конкурса на Венецианской биеннале Лиз Розенталь, режиссёр фильма «Жду тебя», художники и продакшн-дизайнер Чарльз Гэррад, а также режиссёр и продюсер VR-кино Даррен Эмерсон.