Date
Thursday 25 February 2021 -
12:30 to 18:00

The Vaganova Ballet Academy, Saint Petersburg, and De Montfort University, Leicester are jointly presenting a one-day conference on sharing experiences about how artistic practices are being altered through the necessary use of video platforms like Zoom during the COVID-19 pandemic. While the focus will be primarily on pedagogical strategies – asking how dance teachers can deal with the challenges of sharing practical knowledge online, considering both the technical and compositions aspects in dance pedagogy – it will also investigate whether there are other forms of artistic communication apart from video art that could emerge in a Zoom space, such as online zoom performances. It will aim to assess the potential of such practices, asking where the place for embodiment and empathy might be in digital spaces, and how communities of practitioners are keeping connected during the pandemic.

This event is part of the UK-Russia Creative Bridge 2020-21 programme.

Curators: Ramsay Burt, Professor of Dance History and Director of the Institute of Dance Drama and Performance Studies Research at De Montfort University; Tatiana Gordeeva, dance artist, curator of MA programme "Artistic practices of contemporary dance".

Programme:

Thursday 25th February 9.30-15.30 (UK time) / 12.30-18.00 (Moscow time)

  • 9.30-10.00 UK / 12.30-13.00 MSK. Ramsay Burt (RB) + Tatiana Gordeeva introduction (TG).
  • 10.00-10.40 UK / 13.00-13.40 MSK. Nina Gasteva with Ramsay Burt and Sally Doughty teaching online, adapting to the pandemic. 
  • 10.50-11.10 UK / 13.50-14.10 MSK. Sasha Rudik teaching young people online during the pandemic.
  • 11.20-12.00 UK / 14.40-15.20 MSK. Sophie Swoffer + Katya Bondar / Adapting creative performance to online spaces during the pandemic.
  • 12.00 - 12.30 UK / 15.00-15.30 MSK. Break.
  • 12.30 - 13.00 UK / 15.30 - 16.00 MSK. Alesandra Seutin online teaching and online presence of Contemporary African Dance.
  • 13.00-13.40 UK / 16.00-16.40 MSK. Sergey Gribov + Mel Knott teaching online with choreographic tasks during the pandemic. 
  • 13.50-14.30 UK / 16.50- 17.30 MSK. Anna Kravchenko & Charlie Morrissey dance artists on working online during the pandemic. 
  • 14.30-15.00 UK / 17.30-18.00 MSK. Plenary led by RB and TG.

Please register to attend