Date
Monday 15 February 2021 to Sunday 28 February 2021

The RUSH initiative, which promotes young and promising Russian musicians by enabling them to perform on the international scene, and CMU, the biggest news provider to the UK music business, will conduct a free online course “CRASH START: Basics of a Career in Music” aimed at emerging musicians, music producers, managers, and other professionals in the industry.

The course will be held as part of the UK-Russia Creative Bridge 2020-21 and will be available starting 15 February 2021 on the project website.

Performing arts took a massive hit during the pandemic. The last year has shown that online events cannot replace traditional real-world concerts and provide much-needed interaction between performer and audience. At the same time, the year 2020 revealed the tremendous potential of online education and motivated experts of the RUSH initiative to create “CRASH START: Basics of a Career in Music”.

RUSH has developed the course in partnership with CMU, a team of music industry experts that identify, research, and explain global trends in the music industry. With truly independent reporting, comment, and analysis on the whole business of music, CMU helps navigate and understand all the many complexities and innovations in the industry. Its editorial team produces a daily newsletter, releases a music business podcast Setlist, and consults such industry giants as Sony Music, Warner Music and Soundcloud. No wonder that the British showcase festival “The Great Escape” trusts CMU to programme the convention side of The Great Escape Festival. Many other international music festivals from Norwegian Vill Vill Vest in Norway to Canadian Music Week are eager to have CMU as experts.

The course aims to provide an impetus to young Russian musicians and bands and help them overcome the implications of the pandemic. The course pays special attention to the practical foundations of a career in the music industry to help you learn the components of almost every successful music project.

The course consists of four parts:

Generating income: copyright ownership; making money from streaming and selling merch; why do we need direct sales, different distribution platforms and business partnerships

Building your team: the benefits of working with like-minded people; how to collaborate with other musicians, business partners, companies, and brands

Growing your fan base: why do musicians need a well-thought-out image; communication channels with the audience; the role of social networks and digital marketing in self-promotion and growing your brand

Promoting yourself: the principles behind successful marketing campaigns and release promotion strategies; how to use media and streaming opportunities in advertising campaigns; how to work with distributors and labels

The video course will be beneficial for young musicians, producers, managers, marketing specialists and other professionals in the music industry. During the first week of the project, from February 15 to February 20, course participants will be able to ask questions. The curators will pick the five most interesting questions, answer them together with CMU experts and publish a digital Q&A.

Date
понедельник 15 февраль 2021 - воскресенье 28 февраль 2021

Музыкальные эксперты независимой инициативы RUSH, созданной для продвижения российских музыкантов на международной сцене, и британский образовательный портал о музыке CMU проведут бесплатный видеокурс «КРАШ СТАРТ: Основы музыкальной карьеры» для начинающих музыкантов, продюсеров, менеджеров и других музыкальных специалистов.

Курс пройдет в рамках программы профессионального развития для специалистов в области культуры и искусства UK-Russia Creative Bridge 2020-21 и будет доступен с 15 февраля 2021 года на сайте проекта.

Ограничения пандемии поставили исполнительские искусства в особенно сложную ситуацию. Прошлый год убедительно доказал, что онлайн-мероприятия не могут заменить живое взаимодействие между исполнителем и аудиторией. В то же время 2020 год напомнил о грандиозном потенциале интернет-образования, поэтому в ответ на сложившуюся ситуацию в музыкальной индустрии, эксперты независимы инициативы RUSH подготовили видеокурс «КРАШ СТАРТ: Основы музыкальной карьеры».

RUSH разработала курс в партнерстве с CMU. Команда CMU состоит из опытных музыкальных аналитиков, которые выявляют, исследуют и объясняют глобальные тренды в музыкальной индустрии. На своём портале CMU публикует умную музыкальную аналитику на доступном языке, делает ежедневную подборку ключевых музыкальных новостей, записывает экспертный подкаст о музыкальном бизнесе Setlist, а также занимается консалтингом таких музыкальных гигантов, как Sony Music, Warner Music и Soundcloud. Не случайно британский шоукейс-фестиваль The Great Escape доверил им проведение ежегодной профессиональной конференции, а другие крупные международные фестивали от норвежского Vill Vill Vest до Canadian Music Week охотно приглашают CMU в качестве экспертов.

Цель курса — дать импульс молодым российским музыкантам и музыкальным проектам и помочь им преодолеть постпандемический застой. Прежде всего курс посвящен практическим основам музыкальной карьеры: начинающие музыканты и музыкальные специалисты узнают, из каких базовых элементов состоит почти любой успешный музыкальный проект. 

Видеокурс «КРАШ СТАРТ» состоит из четырех частей:

Доходы: что такое авторское право, как музыканты зарабатывают на стриминге и продаже мерча, зачем нужны прямые продажи, разные площадки распространения и деловое партнерство

Команда: почему начинающему музыканту необходима команда единомышленников, как работает сотрудничество с другими музыкантами, деловыми партнерами, компаниями и брендами

Фан-база: зачем музыкантам продуманный имидж и каналы общения с аудиторией, какую роль в формировании музыкального бренда играют социальные сети и диджитал-маркетинг

Промо: какие принципы лежат в основе успешных маркетинговых кампаний и стратегий продвижения релизов, как использовать медиа и стриминг в рекламных кампаниях, как работать с дистрибьюторами и лейблами

Видеокурс «КРАШ СТАРТ» составлен таким образом, что помимо начинающих музыкантов он принесет пользу молодым продюсерам, менеджерам, маркетологам и другим специалистам музыкальной индустрии. Всю первую неделю проекта с 15 до 20 февраля участники курса смогут задавать свои вопросы по каждой из обсуждаемых тем, а кураторы RUSH отберут по пять самых интересных, ответят на них вместе со специалистами из CMU и издадут цифровой Q&A.